Beyond Mountains Homestead Blueberry Harvest!!

The kids and I spent an hour or so picking blueberries from our two rather small blueberry bushes this afternoon. There are still as many or more yet to ripen. A heaping quart and a half was our haul. Not too shabby for two bushes.

IMG_3185.JPG

IMG_3187.JPG

Sort:  

We can't wait to get some blueberry bushes. Those look so yummy!

Get some .... they are really awesome!!!

Our blueberries are super sweet and plump this year because of all the rain we've received. One of the best year ever.

I placed ours ...well, all those that the kids didn't eat ... on a cookie tray and froze them. Then I placed them in a freezer bag for canning this winter.

Yeah we grew these in New Jersey and they did very well. Not quite as good growing them in Virginia. Nice looking berries you have there!

Thanks...this was our biggest haul yet!

My favorite!!

It's my sons favorite ... he jumped at the chance to pick berries 👨🏻‍🌾

NICE!
Our blueberries are SO far behind this year, it has been so odd, but we should be getting some ripe ones soon. It has been weird to be getting strawberries before blueberries as it is usually the other way around, but I am thankful we are getting some, late though they may be!

Isn't that strange how different regions yield different crops at different times. Here in south central Pennsylvania strawberries come in much sooner than blueberries.

Nice bounty, enjoy them!!! They're supposed to be loaded with anti-oxidants and assorted other goodness.

They are going into the freezer for canning this winter👍🏻

Very nice. Blueberries are something I'd love to have one day.

We have had these bushes for years, this is the first really good harvest so far😀

Looking good. I always prune my plants back hard to try and encourage the bigger berries. Much easier to pick big berries.

The only thing I did different this year was, I added a small amount of wood ash from our wood stove to the base of the bushes this past winter. 😯

I don't have a wood stove so can't do that. I add organic fertilizer. Here is a recent post I did on blueberries if you're interested.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@garden-to-eat/blueberries-are-ripening

Thanks @renodakota .... tasty too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67749.41
ETH 3262.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64