Making Your Own Laundry Soap. The Real Scoop On It!

You see lots of posts on making laundry soap for yourself instead of buying a popular brand name. So I made my own laundry soap to see what it was all about. I researched several posting on making your own laundry soap on many sites and this is my take on the subject. We usually go to places like Dollar General or Family Dollar and buy one brand, it is the off brand or generic brand of laundry soap. It costs about $9.00 to get about a gallon container. We are a household of 7 people and a gallon will last about a week or so. So that is the starting point of my thought. You can get the name brands for anywhere from say $15.00 to $20.00 and it is a little over a gallon. So I went and priced the things I wanted to use for making my laundry soap. I was surprised that I could buy what I needed to make laundry soap for the price of the name brands gallon size. For about $20.00 I could make 10 gallons of laundry soap, it smells and cleans just as good as the high dollar name brands do.
0628171157 (320 x 240).jpg
Zote Laundry Flakes. $2.28 a box. You will need two boxes to make 10 gallons use one box per 5 gallon batch. You do not have to grate them. That is a win for me.

0628171159 (320 x 240).jpg
Borax is $3.97 a box. One box does Two batches of laundry soap.

0628171158a (320 x 240).jpg
Arm & Hammer Laundry Booster $3.97 a box. One box does two batches of laundry soap.
0628171159a (320 x 240).jpg
Oxy-Clean $7.56 a box. This will do more than 2 batches, about 3 or 4 batches of laundry soap, depending on if you want to use more of this per batch.
So all of that together is right at $20.00. That is where I live, may be more depending on your location.

So here are the directions for how I made liquid laundry soap.

Use 1 box of Zote Laundry Flakes.
Put the soap flakes in a 5 gallon bucket with 1 gallon of boiling water stirring constantly until soap is completely dissolved.
Put 4 gallons of really hot tap water in a 5-gallon bucket and stir in 2 cups of borax and 2 cups of A&H Laundry Booster Washing Soda and about 1 cup of Oyx-Clean until completely dissolved.
Pour soap mixture from the bucket with the soap flakes into the other bucket. Stir well. After stirring well, I pour from one bucket to the other to help mix it up. I divide it as equal as possible into the two 5 gallon buckets. This will make it easier to stir it up the next morning.
Cover and leave overnight.
Shake or stir until smooth. I use a hand blender to help with this and it works great.Pour from one bucket to the other slowly so not to splatter all over everything. Pour it into one bucket and pour into gallon jugs or other containers.
Use 1 cup per load.

So try it and see if I am right or wrong in your opinion. It is a little more work but you save some money doing this and that can be a good thing.

Do not forget to follow, upvote and resteem. Hope everyone has a great day.
@basicstoliving

Sort:  

thank you for the recipe I too plan on making my own laundry soap

Thank you for reading this post.

Nice man. I am going to try this.

Congratulations @basicstoliving! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

When you were researching, did you come across this article? It definitely made me not want to make my own. Maybe after a while you'll try the thing she did in her tub to see if you come to the same conclusion?

I read the article and I find it funny that she used the same products I use for a stripper. I think this article was more of a hey homemade laundry soap is bad use young living soap or some other plant based soap. To me it was a spend your hard earned money on expensive soaps article. I will test her theory out after a little while though.

I can see that could be the case! But I would really love it if you tried it out after, then I could get a real feel of whether the article is biased or not.

I will try it out after a little while after using it.

Very interesting. Thanks for the resteem. I followed :)

Thanks! Try making this it will save you money.

This is just about how I make mine, too. Works just fine to me and saves a lot of money.

Yes, it works great. We love using this.

Awesome!! Sorry I missed seeing this before but glad I found it. Up-voted and re-steemed. Very good information!! Thanks for posting!!

Thanks! Have a great 4th!

Followed you from thl

Thanks! Have a great day!

I make mine with the same ingredients, but I use it dry (in powder)

I like the liquid better. It takes more to make it but in the humidity here the powder clumps up real bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56