You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A peek at our Aquaponic tower system, (And a review of Zipgrow):

in #homesteading7 years ago

I had the same problems with my vertical system. I solved them by replacing the gutter with a bunk feeder, adding some extra filtration, and mounting the drip fittings feeding the towers to a 1x6 and attaching a large vibratory motor to it. The motor literally vibrates the crap out of the drip fittings. Totally reduced the amount of labor required.

Sort:  

These are FANTASTIC ideas, thanks so much for sharing how you made it work!
Ill definitely pass these along to my husband, so we can incorporate them next time we try this...
We were thinking something wider for the drain trough, a bunk feeder would totally work. I had never thought about using something that vibrates to keep the drip tubes clear, that is GENIUS!
Thanks!!

Your post inspired me to write my own outlining how I resolved my problems. Please check it out and let me know what you think.

https://steemit.com/aquaponics/@barriault/vertical-aquaponics-problems-solved

Fantastic! I sure will :)

Did you have the same pest problems? How do you overcome the pest problem. And finally are you still growing strawberries with your system and how is it going?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60255.54
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55