You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving Tomato Seeds, Making Tomato Sauce and Brewing Tomato Wine!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Tomato wine? That is really new to me, how does it taste though? Well, I am sure it tastes pretty good since you seem to have made more... You must be proud of yourself for letting your imagination run wild instead of throwing away that tomato juice (this is your first time trying that out, right?

Saving seeds sure does look simple and not only that you get to make use of the other parts of the tomato as well. No part goes to waste! Just look at the tomato sauce you have now, quite a lot! You won't be able to finish this alone, will you? Quite curious though, you didn't add water to the tomato "meat" or did you?

You know, growing up my mum used to save up tomato by drying them up and a I must say that they taste extra sweet one can easily munch on them. I wonder what gives them that extra sweetness (have some chemistry to share?😀)

You had a great tomato adventure, and I enjoyed following you through it. Work that feels like play? Well, keep doing and enjoying it😊

Sort:  

Tomato wine? That is really new to me, how does it taste though? Well, I am sure it tastes pretty good since you seem to have made more... You must be proud of yourself for letting your imagination run wild instead of throwing away that tomato juice (this is your first time trying that out, right?

Yep first time! I like the flavor so far even un aged. It is like tomato juice with less pulp and more bite ;) Yeah I really enjoyed trying this out so far!

Saving seeds sure does look simple and not only that you get to make use of the other parts of the tomato as well. No part goes to waste! Just look at the tomato sauce you have now, quite a lot! You won't be able to finish this alone, will you? Quite curious though, you didn't add water to the tomato "meat" or did you?

No I did not add water to the tomatoes because I wanted them to cook down to a thick sauce. No we probably won't finish all of our tomato sauce alone, but if we don't I have gifts for friends :)

You know, growing up my mum used to save up tomato by drying them up and a I must say that they taste extra sweet one can easily munch on them. I wonder what gives them that extra sweetness (have some chemistry to share?😀)

I am not good at chemistry but common sense tells me that without the water flavors are concentrated and so sugars and tomato flavors are more intense. Other than that I couldn't tell you!

You had a great tomato adventure, and I enjoyed following you through it. Work that feels like play? Well, keep doing and enjoying it😊

Thanks so much!!

Well, your first time did turn out to be a great one!

Common sense? I guess that sense isn't common at all because I had no idea...,😀

I guess common sense is subjective, and therefore quite possibly only common to the beholder :P Thanks!

Yeah yeah! That is true, what is common sense to one might not be to some other person...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80