Saving Tomato Seeds, Making Tomato Sauce and Brewing Tomato Wine!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I love it when I can stack functions on my homesteading projects and get more yields! I turned my tomatoes into seeds, tomato sauce and tomato wine.

I haven't posted in a while. I took a break when the HF20 was going on and then just stayed on break after that. It was a good chance to make some progress on personal projects. But I miss steemit and I have been wanting to make this post for a while.

IMG_20180831_143931.jpg

Saving tomato seeds is easy and surprisingly satisfying!

I am working on a tomato seed contract for a local seed company. They gave me seed to start with and will pay me for the seed I grow out and return to them, by weight.

One nice thing about saving tomato seeds is that most tomatoes are inbreeders. This means that they don't need any other tomato plants around them to cross pollinate and we don't need to save seeds from many plants in order to avoid inbreeding depression. Its hard to go wrong with that.

IMG_20180831_135010.jpg

To save tomato seed the first step is to grab a tomato and SQUEEZE!

IMG_20180831_135057.jpg

Well - just make sure you're squeezing over a container (cup, bowl, yogurt container are all great) to catch the seedy pulp from inside the tomato. It takes a tomato or two to get the rythm.. but there's not really much else to it!

Squeezing tomatoes brings me back to my boyhood days. Crushing a soft fruit in my hand, that juice squirting through my fingers, seeds spraying out and getting on my shirt, arms and shoes. Is this work or play? I am not quite sure :)

The only other thing I should mention in case its not a given is make sure to cut any rotton or moldy parts of the tomato before you squeeze it.

When I squeeze the seeds out of a tomato into my container I throw the tomato meat into a pot.

IMG_20180831_145747.jpg

When the pot is full of meat I take it into the kitchen to process shortly!

IMG_20180831_141243.jpg

Fermenting the Tomato Seed

Meanwhile I finished my squeezing and now I have the seeds and juice to deal with. The prescribed formula is ferment the seeds in their juice for 3 days or so.

IMG_20180831_150126.jpg

Fermentation helps dissolve and loosen the small amounts of pulp around the seeds so that we can have clean seeds with less chance of pulp that will rot.

IMG_20180831_141431.jpg

Fermenting the seeds is as simple as just covering the container that is holding the tomato seeds and juice and stir at least once a day to prevent mold from building on the surface. (I found that some tomato varieties mold easier than others and in warmer environments stirring more than once a day might be better)

IMG_20180917_164713.jpg

If you're saving seeds from more than one type of tomato make sure to label each container!

OK.. that's going to sit for three days let's move on to the sauce.

Back in the kitchen

IMG_20180908_124137.jpg

My pots are filled and ready to cook!

I get them up to a boil and then reduce the heat so that they are simmering pretty good and reduce the tomatoes down. When it starts to thicken stirring and lowering the heat is critical to avoid burning.

Simmering down to about 1/2 the volume yields a nice thickness!

IMG_20180901_102728.jpg

Notice: no seeds ;)

When I am happy with the thickness my next trick is blending the sauce with my immersion blender which blends the skin and all. Now you know why I didn't bother chopping up my squeezed tomatoes.

IMG_20180901_112952.jpg

Taking a break

Simmering down tomato sauce can take a while. I typically don't end up canning it the same day. Sometimes I get the simmering started the first day, finish the sauce the 2nd day and can it the third day. I just leave the sauce on the cool floor meanwhile. Sometimes I am ambitious and do it all in one day, usually that's not the case ;) Sometimes I don't even start cooking the sauce the first day and just let the tomatoes sit in the pot and ferment a bit and cook them the next day. As long as I am not leaving it too long to rot, it's all good - considering I am boiling out the bacteria anyway and bringing to a boil before canning again.

IMG_20180901_113056.jpg

Canning the sauce

I should also note that I don't blend the sauce until right before I can it and am ready to take the pot off the heat, because if I keep simmering the blended sauce it is so thick that it starts sputtering and splattering.

IMG_20180901_113231.jpg

I carefully ladle the boiling sauce into mason jars and steam (not pressure) can the sauce. I noticed that unlike jams my sauce sometimes overboils out of the mason jar a little bit and prevents sealing - my rings may also be a little too loose. So I learned not to fill my jars with tomato sauce as full as I fill my jam.

IMG_20180909_132432.jpg

I almost can't wait for winter to enjoy this sauce in chilis and pastas!

IMG_20180901_150712.jpg

Pouring the juice off the tomatoes

Now that the sauce is done and three days have gone by since I squeezed my tomatoes the seeds have fermented in tomato juice long enough. Notice the seeds have sunk to the bottom of the jar! This is critical for the next step.

IMG_20180911_182650.jpg

I tasted the fermented tomato juice and it was quite good!! I had a split second thought that I would pour myself a cup of fermented tomato juice and put the rest in the fridge to enjoy over a few days.

but then I realized that it would make great wine! OK let's save this deliciousness.

IMG_20180911_182912.jpg

I pour it out over a strainer to remove some of the pulp and chunks from the juice. Careful! Don't pour out the seeds!

IMG_20180911_182938.jpg

The strained pulp can be saved for going into a pot of chili or stew.

IMG_20180911_182958.jpg

The seeds are still surrounded with juice and a little pulp. What we do is fill the jar with water and pour off the water/juice mix until it runs clean and clear. This is about 4-5 fillings for me.

IMG_20180911_183713.jpg

Every time I pour the water out it gets clearer and clearer. I am careful not to pour out the seeds with the water. They sink to the bottom which is quite helpful. Some of the smaller or less viable seeds will float, so I don't mind that those floaters get poured out because the seed I am left with will have a higher germination rate.

Drying the Seeds

Now that the seeds are clean of juice, pulp, and floating seeds they can be dried. I spread them out on screens.

IMG_20180911_190948.jpg

For an extra cleaning step I spray over the seeds on the screen with a sprayer to help clear any last juice and debris through the screen.

Then the screen is left to dry for about a week. If there is not much airflow I find that a fan helps speed up the drying the first few hours.

Tomato wine primary fermentation

The seeds were my primary objective and now that they are drying I can get my wine going! My juice is already wild fermented for 3 days but I want to bump it up a notch and have a stronger alcohol so I add some sugar and yeast to get it really going.

I grab some of my blackberry wine which in its primary fermentation to introduce yeast to the tomato wine.

IMG_20180911_191044.jpg

Not too long after that I can see some strong action in the tomato juice.

IMG_20180914_105725.jpg

But that's nothing compared to the next day!

IMG_20180917_130210.jpg

I let the primary fermentation brew for about 7-10 days until it starts slowing down. Every day if I can think of it I skim off some of the foamy stuff.

IMG_20180917_130230.jpg

Tomato seeds are dry!

IMG_20180911_184543.jpg

Once the seeds are dry I scoop them up and store them in a dry place.

IMG_20180911_184605.jpg

IMG_20180911_184726.jpg

Sun Dried Tomatoes - The easy way to save tomato seeds

Now that I told you all about that fermenting, pouring, spraying, drying I'll reward you for following me all the way down this far in the post ;)

Here's the easy way to save tomato seeds. And this is also stacking functions with more than one yield.

IMG_20180902_192028.jpg

I like using cherry tomatoes for my sun dried tomatoes but you can use any tomatoes.

IMG_20180902_183335.jpg

Oh man I love sun dried tomatoes! They are so tasty. I have a few gallons dried now and ready to start enjoying once the fresh tomatoes run out, which won't be long now that frosts are starting to set in.

IMG_20180901_144601.jpg

And look at all those seeds in the tomatoes! Many of these seeds will be perfectly viable in a few months when its time to start next years tomato plants.

One caveat: Those seeds will be ready for you if you don't eat them all first!

Also, if you are planting a lot of tomatoes it can be a pain to separate out seeds but for just a few its not a big deal. Also you would have to keep your dried tomatoes separated by variety.

Secondary Fermentation of the Tomato Wine

About 10 days have passed and the primary tomato wine fermentation is slowing down so I am pouring it into my jug to slowly ferment without oxygen present.

IMG_20180920_174027.jpg

I leave some extra room at the top of the jug in case the introduction of oxygen from pouring in the wine jumpstarts a very bubbly ferment again. I had more that didn't fit and so I saved it in a mason jar because its not big enough for another jug. The idea is when I rack the wine there will be a lot of sediment at the bottom that I will rack off and then I'll have more room for the wine in the mason jar.

IMG_20180920_174624.jpg

Hard work is done, enjoy some wine!

IMG_20180920_174735.jpg

My tomato wine takes its place next to my other wines. Since taking this photo I have 2 more jugs of tomato wine and one more fermenting right now which will make a fourth jug!

IMG_20180924_175346.jpg

So far 3 out of 4 that have tasted the fermenting wine have enjoyed it... I know it sounds weird right? But I like it ;) I am curious how it will turn out after a year.

Thanks for following along for my tomato adventures :)

IMG_20180917_150335.jpg



Proudly Contributing To:

ghscollective_logo-01-1.png
#ghsc | Introducing @ghscollective | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community

Sort:  

Thay was awesome @sagescrub. And I'm glad you're back! I was wondering just yesterday where had you gone...

Thanks for the tomoato seed saving tips. I wanted to make a post on how I've neen doing it perhaps I still will do so and link your post for those who want a more professional opinion on the matter!

So, on yhe sun dried tomato bit... you could in theory just plant a slice in the dirt, ssme way you would a few seeds? (I LOVE tomatoes but I am not a fan of sun dried ones for some reason...)

Thanks again

Ps I love that you're stacking functions... I just ate the crushed tomatoes as I collected seeds . I want to try the wine!!!

Hey @senorcoconut!

So, on yhe sun dried tomato bit... you could in theory just plant a slice in the dirt, ssme way you would a few seeds? (I LOVE tomatoes but I am not a fan of sun dried ones for some reason...)

Yes exactly! You might separate out the seeds a bit or you might get lots of plants in one spot. But you can always then or separate the seedlings later too.

Thanks for your nice comments :) The wine is coming along nicely.. you should try making some! Its fun

One day when I figure out how to make more time... I'll try the wine for sure.

Thanks again for teaching us some good stuff

This is truly a tomato fiesta and galore @sagescrub! They look so plump and juicy and such great use of each part! Thank you for sharing with us the many ways we can use the tomatoes!

I agree! I love tomatoes :)

:) no wonder! Happy week to you!

🍅 Thank you for sharing this awesome info @sagescrub!!
sure looks yummy! resteemed and followed! :-)

Nice! I had no idea tomatoes we're so useful. You forgot to mention my favorite though, fried green tomatoes!

Never heard of tomato wine, what's it taste like?

First time I hear of that too

Its reminiscent of tomato juice, but not as thick and more alchol! This is my first year making it and am excited to see how it tastes after aging.

Bloody Mary?

This sounds super interesting...

Good to see you back posting.
I always thought you fermented tomato seeds in water. I also expected you'd need to remove the tomato skins before pureeing for the sauce. Then tomato wine! I feel I'm always guaranteed to learn something new from you!

Just one question, is the wine sweet or dry?

I don't add water to the juice because it would dilute the sugar and less fermenting. I'll add a little water to some other fruits if they don't have much water content. Like right now I am fermenting persimmon and I added some water.

I am hoping the wine will ferment out all the sugars and be dry! It could be either.

Hi sagescrub,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Tomato wine? That is really new to me, how does it taste though? Well, I am sure it tastes pretty good since you seem to have made more... You must be proud of yourself for letting your imagination run wild instead of throwing away that tomato juice (this is your first time trying that out, right?

Saving seeds sure does look simple and not only that you get to make use of the other parts of the tomato as well. No part goes to waste! Just look at the tomato sauce you have now, quite a lot! You won't be able to finish this alone, will you? Quite curious though, you didn't add water to the tomato "meat" or did you?

You know, growing up my mum used to save up tomato by drying them up and a I must say that they taste extra sweet one can easily munch on them. I wonder what gives them that extra sweetness (have some chemistry to share?😀)

You had a great tomato adventure, and I enjoyed following you through it. Work that feels like play? Well, keep doing and enjoying it😊

Tomato wine? That is really new to me, how does it taste though? Well, I am sure it tastes pretty good since you seem to have made more... You must be proud of yourself for letting your imagination run wild instead of throwing away that tomato juice (this is your first time trying that out, right?

Yep first time! I like the flavor so far even un aged. It is like tomato juice with less pulp and more bite ;) Yeah I really enjoyed trying this out so far!

Saving seeds sure does look simple and not only that you get to make use of the other parts of the tomato as well. No part goes to waste! Just look at the tomato sauce you have now, quite a lot! You won't be able to finish this alone, will you? Quite curious though, you didn't add water to the tomato "meat" or did you?

No I did not add water to the tomatoes because I wanted them to cook down to a thick sauce. No we probably won't finish all of our tomato sauce alone, but if we don't I have gifts for friends :)

You know, growing up my mum used to save up tomato by drying them up and a I must say that they taste extra sweet one can easily munch on them. I wonder what gives them that extra sweetness (have some chemistry to share?😀)

I am not good at chemistry but common sense tells me that without the water flavors are concentrated and so sugars and tomato flavors are more intense. Other than that I couldn't tell you!

You had a great tomato adventure, and I enjoyed following you through it. Work that feels like play? Well, keep doing and enjoying it😊

Thanks so much!!

Well, your first time did turn out to be a great one!

Common sense? I guess that sense isn't common at all because I had no idea...,😀

I guess common sense is subjective, and therefore quite possibly only common to the beholder :P Thanks!

Yeah yeah! That is true, what is common sense to one might not be to some other person...

Please post an update after a year how your tomato wine turns out. I would have have never thought of that one. I was recently wondering about sun dried tomatoes glad you shared that as well.

I most definitely will! I'll be glad to share as I tasted it along the way as well during the racking and bottling ;)

AMAZING article @sagescrub. Just saw via @shasta and resteemed so I can refer to it.

I'd love to start growing my own tomatoes ~ Sometimes they come up in the garden as ferals from vegies dug into the ground ~ But to actually grow a variety of tomatoes from seeds would be such an accomplishment for this suburban homesteader. Thanks so much for going the full mile. 🙏

I highly recommend growing your veggies from seed if you have the interest and time. It is very fulfilling and when you get the hang of it it you can grow so much more for so much less $. Also, you;ll end up choosing from more varieties available than you would find in starts from your local nursery. Just my .002 steem ;) Actually I would say you are already doing it the natural way with your in ground composting. Nice work :)

Thanks so very much @sagescrub. You're spot on about feeling far more fulfilled to see seeds you plant (intentionally or not) turn into thriving vegies than watching starters grow.

I was at our local organic farmer's market yesterday and was about to buy some sweet corn seedlings for my new vegie garden ~ And immediately had the thought: No, I'd much prefer to plant some corn seeds instead. And then I looked at all the starters there with the same mindset and realized I'll be able to grow most of my vegies from seed.

Hoping to get some bees for our backyard soon as well which will really help with any pollination needed.

When you are set up to sell seeds, will you be able to send them to Australia? 🐝♥︎🐝

Corn is so easy to plant and get to germinate, directly in the ground. You most definitely don't need to buy corn starts (beans and squash are really easy to direct sow and come up fast also) :) I learned the hard way that corn likes good spacing between rows 2 1/2-3 feet... and they like lots of friends close by because the pollen is heavy and doesn't always fly far (corn is wind pollinated)

If you plan to save your own corn seeds for planting next year that's another story.. you need to commit to saving seed from at least 100-200 plants to avoid inbreeding.

We are working on figuring out international shipping... other than figuring out the logistics.. yes we plan to ship internationally!

Good luck with the bees and your garden planting!

Tomato wine , hmm I might have to try it.
I could see it being good for cooking too.
I am a hobby winemaker. I just started experimenting with meades and Melomels this last year

I am also a hobby winemaker for the last two years, although I have not made a grape wine yet! Mostly I have been working with other fruits and herbs. You should definitely try it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98