The Fruits Of Our Labor - My First Time Making Jelly and Canning!

in #homesteading6 years ago

My mom has always made fun of me for my inability to follow a recipe exactly. Yesterday, when I made blackberry jelly, was no exception! I had to improvise in a few places, but I am happy to report that the end result was pretty tasty. We now have 6 tiny jars of blackberry jelly from blackberries we have picked over the last few months from our neighborhood. This was my first time making jelly and my first time canning and I think they both went pretty well!

image1(1).JPG

Finding Ingredients in Panama

Basically, I learned that finding pectin in Panama wasn't going to happen, so when my husband recently took a trip back to Texas, I asked him to pick some up for me! He brought me back two big bottles of it which I thought would last a very long time!

The blackberries we have picked in our neighborhood over the last few months and stored them in the freezer. Sugar, of course, is pretty easy to find, but I did have to use the local brown colored sugar as white is more expensive. I brought the jars from the United States when I moved.

IMG_9583.JPG

A Great Project With The Kids

@crosheille was talking about sewing with her daughter yesterday and encouraged us to do something with our kids. I thought my kids would really enjoy helping me do this. What I didn't factor in was the pull of friends who were playing outside. Ha! My son helped me with the first step while another watched. Then I didn't see them again until it was time to test the product! They have, however, helped me pick the blackberries on our walks!

IMG_9584.JPG
Stirring the berries to help them release their juice.

Following the Recipe

I found a recipe online that looked like it would work for me and was relatively easy. I got all the ingredients together and started boiling the berries in some water. I didn't measure either of this, and perhaps I should have!

After boiling the berries for about 20 minutes, I strained them into a pot and measured to see how much juice I ended up with. I was about 1 cup short of what the recipe called for! Yikes! Time to improvise. Since I was short on juice (and didn't see the note that I could add up to half a cup of water), I just cut out some of the sugar.

IMG_9585.JPG . IMG_9587.JPG

That's A Lot of Sugar

I measured out 3 cups of sugar and set it aside, ready to add it to the juice after I added the pectin and it began to boil again. Having it all sitting there sure helped me see how much sugar is in this jelly!

IMG_9588.JPG

IMG_9632.JPG
It was interesting to watch the juice and sugar mixture turn into jelly!

Prepare the Jars

I had prepared the jars in advance and they were waiting in a warm water bath. Then I realized I had to stir constantly and take the jars and lids out basically at the same time. I then asked my husband to help. He took the jars out of the water...a little too early. He ended up taking them out and putting them back in twice. Ha! They were nice and hot when it was time to fill them with jelly though!

IMG_9589.JPG

Fill the Jars

After the jars were prepared and the jelly was ready, it was time to fill them up with jelly goodness! We have a canning set, but it's still in boxes from our move, so everything was improvised! Thankfully I had rubber ended tongs and a funnel with a wide mouth! Those made this process a little easier!

IMG_9594.JPG

Hot Water Bath

I have never done any canning before, but I went to a class in Texas once, so I understand the canning process. The directions said to do the inversion method or hot water bath. I wanted to give some to a friend in the evening and the inversion method said it could take hours, so I decided on a hot water bath. That meant I had to figure out really quickly how that works!

After a little research, I realized I needed to keep the jars off the bottom of the pot while processing. It suggested a cooling rack (too big) or some canning rings tied together. I had that, so that's what I decided to use! It worked great! I processed the jars and then took them out and slowly started hearing the "pop" sound as they sealed! Super exciting for me!

IMG_9595.JPG

Trying the Jelly

The next part was probably our favorite. We got to try some of the jelly that was in the bottom of the pan and a little bit of leftover that made it to the fridge. It was mighty tasty on a piece of bread. All the kids loved it!

IMG_9596.JPG

Final Thoughts

This was a fun process and not as difficult as I thought it would be. I have been putting it off for months thinking it would take me all day and make a huge mess. Well, it took a few hours total and not a HUGE mess.

We used our jelly on our peanut butter sandwiches today and it was yummy! I'm glad that I finally decided to just do it! So if you're putting off making jelly or canning like I was, know that if I can do it, you can too!!

IMG_9597.JPG

Now, if you'll excuse me, it's time for a snack of some homemade blackberry jelly on a piece of toast. YUM!

Sort:  

(I can see why your mom makes fun of you.) Very interesting process here. (I wish I liked jelly better, but I prefer jam and preserves.) My grandmother used to make the most marvelous plum jam. Every time I have some from the grocery store, I think of her. That's my favorite!!

I remember my great-grandmother (my grandmother's mother) gathering wild plums in her apron one afternoon when we went on a drive and she spotted a wild plum tree. We stopped and she was climbing up and down the hill like a little mountain goat, gathering fallen plums. (She was about 4'10" ... would have blown away in a stiff breeze ... and lived to be 104. Lived in Weatherford, Texas) Best plum jam ever though came from that trip! (That was back in the days when people knew what to look for and could do stuff!!)

Anyway ... I've never tried canning or preserving. But the idea does appeal to me. I didn't know pectin came in bottles. I thought it was a powder that came in envelopes like gelatin. (Shows how much I know.) Your experience is inspiring. I hope you enjoy all that wonderful jelly!!

My grandparents used to make plum jam as well from plums on their tree! I don't know why I have such a hard time following recipes. Sometimes I don't have the right stuff...or enough (like this one). I know right where Weatherford is. I used to drive through it all the time going to college. And it's RIGHT BESIDE where my grandparents had a plum tree!! Maybe a plastic jar/bottle of pectin was a better word. I can't ever figure out what to call them exactly. Yeah the recipe called for a box of pectin which was 6 tablespoons (I used 5 since I used less juice and sugar - Ha). I think it comes in envelopes too. I need to figure out what the difference in jam and jelly is...

Jam is basically thick, pureed fruit -- stewed and preserved but still spreadable. It's opaque. So are preserves, which is like jam (are like jam?) but with chunks of fruit in the mix. (Jam is more homogenous.) Jelly is made from just the juice and is translucent. It's also harder to get on your knife, and I don't think it spreads as well. Jelly is like Jello. Jam is more the consistency of really thick ketchup. When you make jam you don't just strain out the juice. You blend the whole fruit in the mix.

Ah nice to know. I should have made jam. I like it with chunks and seeds in it. I kept it to make some fruit leather but haven't dehydrated it yet.

Your story brings back memories of my Mother canning jams and jellies. We had a lot of berries and wild grapes that she put to use each year. Thanks for the memory jog.
The kids will remember this for their lifetime, guaranteed.

Wild grapes would be great! Glad this reminded you of growing up. :) I'm hopeful I can make some more in the future. :)

Well good for you!! I am so happy that you got everything together and went for it! I’m glad the kiddos were involved at least at the beginning Ha! You were cracking me up in this post LOL! You and reading recipes and then having to improvise lol, so funny!

The jelly looks sooo delicious and I can imagine how fresh it taste. Kudos to you!! I have always wanted to try canning but haven’t gotten the supplies yet. Thank you for the inspiration!! 💕

Yes, I sometimes don't have all the ingredients and sometimes we don't like one of them (like onions). Lol! Yeah, it would have been a crazy mess if the kids would have helped the whole time, I'm afraid. My friend who I gave a jar said it was great...the one bite she got...her kids ate all the rest of it...in one day! :) My next thing might be jalapeno jelly if I can find some good jalapenos around here (Panamanians don't like spicy stuff)!

Lol that’s so funny! Wow they ate the whole jar on one day!! It must be some Yummy jelly! At least she got to taste it lol!

I made some jelly myself and I agree that it is super easy and fun thing to do! I have made it with apples, strawberry, blackberry, and a mixed one. You do have to use a lot of sugar but that is better than using chemical conservators. Your kids look like they had a lot of fun.

You did an amazing job for your first time making jelly, kudos!

:) Thanks! I'm glad that I tried it out. Sounds like you made some good flavors as well. :)

First time I am educated about the canning part. All this while I thought it is just "pour in the jelly into the jar, cover with the lid, done!" Didn't there is a procedure to it which I read here is the hot water bath method. Certainly an eye-opening. We are from Malaysia and over here we don't have berries. We import them. I love berries jam but I think I will never have a chance to do homemade berries jam. 😊

Congratulations to you to finally decided to "just do it!" and I can see that the result is beary berry very amazingly tasty! sweet

This canning preserves it for a year or maybe longer. I'm not exactly sure how long! If you just cover with a lid, it has to be in the fridge and eaten in about a week. :) You can do all other kinds of jam - I recommend it as it was pretty easy. Thanks! It was a yummy jelly - everyone has liked it so far. :)

I am giving serious thought about it - making on my own. See when the moment of "just do it" arrives. ✌

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 14 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Thanks so much! :) Always enjoy hearing your podcasts and glad I made it on! Choo choo

I think it has been since the very first podcast since I featured one of your posts! So I was glad to be able to feature another in the latest installment. The jelly sure does look delicious.

My aunt used to make jellies all the time and enter in them in the NC State Fair, so we'd go every year to see if she won any accolades. If I recall correctly, she won the blue ribbon several times!

Perhaps you'll be able to have the same success with your jellies in the future!

Glad it turned out well, homemade is so much better! I also tend to adapt recipes on a whim according to what's available :)

:) Oh good, I'm glad you adapt as well. Yes, my friend here has decided this is my new thing to make jelly and that's my role as a "prairie girl" so now she needs to find something. Ha. I've done it once... ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 75 (3/16/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Wahoo! Thanks so much! :)

YaaaaaaY! I remember exactly how you feel cause I just started last year. I had to improvise too, on several things. Your jelly looks Yummy and beautiful and way to go! I can't wait to trade canning stories this year. Way to go and congratulations!

It tastes really good. Everyone has enjoyed it. :) Thanks! I hope to find other stuff I can can as well. We have a ton of lemons and I thought about that, but we have so much, don't really need to can them as they are always available. Will need to figure something else out. Ha!

@apanamamama,

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot, and has been nominated by the curator group!

If chosen, your post may be featured in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.

An image from your post may be featured.

That jelly looks really delicious! Great work!

Please reply to this comment if you accept, and I will share your post with the other @Muxxybot curators!

Sounds great! Thanks for letting me have a chance. :) I'm glad you liked it. It tasted great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40