The greenhouse in winter

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hi dere, and welcome to da greenhouse, eh! I hope you're wearing your parka and your tuke, because it's cold out here!

I decided to do a final greenhouse post for 2017, even though the greenhouse is cold and dead for the winter. Right now, the greenhouse is being used to some extent for storage of things like the bicycles. It's been rather cold outside for a several weeks now, so I haven't been doing anything outside or in the greenhouse.

I finally got around to finishing setting up the stovepipe for the little cast iron potbelly stove that I have in the back of the greenhouse, and I decided to take a few pictures of the greenhouse while I was out there. The poor greenhouse is looking pretty desolate right now, but that's to be expected.
so, here's a couple of pictures to make you shiver a bit.

Looking west.
DSCN8314.JPG

Looking east.
DSCN8315.JPG

The sad carrot experiment.
DSCN8316.JPG

The frozen catnip plant. This should come back in the spring, catnip is pretty tough.
DSCN8317.JPG

I finally got this stovepipe put together yesterday. I needed to cut 4 inches off of a piece of stovepipe to make it fit properly, and I finally got around to doing that, so I was able to put it all together.
DSCN8318.JPG

Of course, after I got the stove pipe set up, I had to start a fire in the stove to test it.
DSCN8320.JPG

It was about 10 degrees F out there while I was working on the stovepipe, it took a long time to raise the temperature 10 degrees in there. I managed to get it above freezing after a couple of hours of burning the stove. The greenhouse is like a big cold sink right now, with frozen ground and no insulation in the greenhouse. When the temperature starts being in the 20s again, I'll be able to warm up the greenhouse a lot easier, but not well enough to grow anything until it doesn't get much below freezing at night. Also, as long as the ground is frozen in the greenhouse, it won't hold any heat. Oh well, it's only 4 months until spring.

Well, that's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, eh!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or a question if you'd like.

May the steem nuggets ever be in your favor!

Sort:  

That's the attitude! Only four months until spring! But those four months will feel like an eternity. I love being in my garden. I'd miss it if Icouldn't be out thee every day. The advantages to living in the tropics.

I think you could also have a smaller garden in the tropics and still have a plentiful harvest, you can grow year around.

If I plan it right, I should be able to get three crops a year.

Are you planning on, in the future, to insulate the greenhouse?

Just curious because it could really add onto your harvest and grow seasons.

I don't think I will insulate the greenhouse, I couldn't afford to heat it even if I did.
I would have to change the roof panels to the multi layer greenhouse panels to slow down the heat loss, and those panels are pretty expensive.

No kidding on the shivering! This Arctic blast can leave - the sooner the better. Sheesh... Love that stove and nice to see you got it going! Any fire on a frigid day is welcome. Well done!

Oh, and you've been paged. Just a bit of fun. ;~P

i just love seeing what other people do - houses, gardens, greenhouses, ALL OF IT! it's a beautiful glimpse into your brains & your hearts.

how warm does it get where you are? is the greenhouse ever completely emptied out because plants will fry?

Thank you!
In the summer here, it can occasionally get into the 90s F, but it's usually in the 70s and 80s. I have enough ventilation that I can get rid of enough extra heat to keep the plants from frying. On a sunny day in the summer, it can easily get to 100 degrees F in the greenhouse if I don't have everything opened up.

Great work you did in 2017, hopefully 2018 will be more fun with steemians and what everyone is doing here.

Thanks for sharing more on greenhousing, I love everything that has to do with agriculture.

I’m a humble friend @maxdevalue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60812.47
ETH 2629.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62