Building the back of the new greenhouse, part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

DSCN6821.JPG
I've been posting about using the new greenhouse for a couple of months now. You can see the old greenhouse beyond the new one in the picture.
One thing I haven't talked about is the fact that the greenhouse building project is not done yet. We built the front of the greenhouse last fall, but we weren't able to build the back half at that time, so we just closed off the north side of the greenhouse for the winter with a big tarp. That tarp stayed on as the temporary back wall until this week.

The back looked like this, except the posts weren't there until last week.
DSCN7100.JPG

The back area is 6 feet deep by 16 feet long. It will be used for storage and work space. Once we had the poles up and the 2X4 on the top of the posts, it was time to start putting up the rafters.
DSCN7127.JPG

Then the basic bracing.
DSCN7135.JPG

DSCN7140.JPG

Then the support boards for the metal roof went on across the rafters.
DSCN7152.JPG

The rafters and support metal roofing support boards were painted before putting them up, it's easier that way.

I don't want to make this post too long, so I'll stop here until tomorrow.

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and looking at my post, eh!
I hope you enjoyed seeing the progress on the project, there's more to come.

As always, feel free to leave me a comment or a question if you'd like.

And remember,
steeming on.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, I had no idea it was only half done! Great progress on the second half and it looks very stable. Since it's on the north side, I'm wondering if that will help buffer the south side more come this winter. Regardless, extra storage is always welcome!

I think having the extra part of the building will help with winter, if we can keep the wind from going through the building. I don't grow anything in the winter, I can't keep the greenhouse warm enough without spending more money than it's worth.

Gotcha! Maybe it'll get you a week or two more of a head start next spring, at least. Lookin' good!

Well, it got me about a month's worth of a head start this year. :-)

Wow, that's awesome! That's a substantial chunk considering the short summers there. It's obviously paying off judging by how happy your plants look!

Hi @amberyooper, it's great to see a really informative post and someone actively working towards sustainability in a world of "go to the shop and buy it!" Thanks for the post, I look forward to the next instalment.

So cool to have a greenhouse. I have most of the materials...even salvaged windows that open on sickle moon runners...but my landlord says no.

I really am just a little bit more than just a little jealous! }:-)>

~smiles~

Yes, it stinks when you have the stuff to build it, but you're not allowed to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89