You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving Tomato Seeds, Making Tomato Sauce and Brewing Tomato Wine!

in #homesteading6 years ago

AMAZING article @sagescrub. Just saw via @shasta and resteemed so I can refer to it.

I'd love to start growing my own tomatoes ~ Sometimes they come up in the garden as ferals from vegies dug into the ground ~ But to actually grow a variety of tomatoes from seeds would be such an accomplishment for this suburban homesteader. Thanks so much for going the full mile. 🙏

Sort:  

I highly recommend growing your veggies from seed if you have the interest and time. It is very fulfilling and when you get the hang of it it you can grow so much more for so much less $. Also, you;ll end up choosing from more varieties available than you would find in starts from your local nursery. Just my .002 steem ;) Actually I would say you are already doing it the natural way with your in ground composting. Nice work :)

Thanks so very much @sagescrub. You're spot on about feeling far more fulfilled to see seeds you plant (intentionally or not) turn into thriving vegies than watching starters grow.

I was at our local organic farmer's market yesterday and was about to buy some sweet corn seedlings for my new vegie garden ~ And immediately had the thought: No, I'd much prefer to plant some corn seeds instead. And then I looked at all the starters there with the same mindset and realized I'll be able to grow most of my vegies from seed.

Hoping to get some bees for our backyard soon as well which will really help with any pollination needed.

When you are set up to sell seeds, will you be able to send them to Australia? 🐝♥︎🐝

Corn is so easy to plant and get to germinate, directly in the ground. You most definitely don't need to buy corn starts (beans and squash are really easy to direct sow and come up fast also) :) I learned the hard way that corn likes good spacing between rows 2 1/2-3 feet... and they like lots of friends close by because the pollen is heavy and doesn't always fly far (corn is wind pollinated)

If you plan to save your own corn seeds for planting next year that's another story.. you need to commit to saving seed from at least 100-200 plants to avoid inbreeding.

We are working on figuring out international shipping... other than figuring out the logistics.. yes we plan to ship internationally!

Good luck with the bees and your garden planting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88