First Homestead Photography Contest - A Dog and Her Boy

in #homesteading7 years ago

In response to @knowledge-seeker's homesteading photography contest, I wanted to submit a picture of our hen named Kevin. (Yes - a girl named Kevin). Kevin had to have a toe amputated when a rat bit it almost clean off. Kevin also likes to be pushed around the yard in a stroller. She definitely makes for an interesting story, but I didn't have a good picture of her that captured all of her Kevin-ness.

So I'm submitting this one instead:

IMG_8104.JPG

This is Lucy, with her (not-so-baby-anymore) Baby Jack. Lucy has plenty of issues. Her jaw is deformed and her teeth almost non-existent which means a good 5-7 inches of her tongue is perpetually hanging out of the side of her mouth. She dribbles everything, everywhere, when she eats or drinks, and is constantly getting leaves or grass stuck to her dry tongue.

One of her previous owners (my husband's ex) was abusive. She would yell and throw things at her, and constantly close the door on her when she was half-way through going in or outside. (It took us 3 years, but she'll finally go through doors a little less like a lunatic).

Her right leg (pictured) is covered in scars. The first 4th of July my husband had her, the neighborhood kids starting lighting off fireworks early and she jumped an 8 ft privacy fence and was lost for three weeks. When they finally found her, she was covered in fleas, infection and spider-bites. Luckily, a little bit of scarring is all that is left from that horrible adventure.

She has a heart murmur.

But she also has her baby. Jack doesn't go far without his shadow following protectively behind him. They explore together, they wrestle together, they chase the chickens together. (The chickens put up with this, though, because the baby and dog also drop food for them). Jack learned the words "gentle" and "good dog" and "we don't bite the doggies" before nearly everything else.

That's why Lucy is my submission for Homestead Photography Content - Animal Edition. Because every homestead, like every boy, is better with a dog.

“When the Man waked up he said, ‘What is Wild Dog doing here?’ And the Woman said, ‘His name is not Wild Dog any more, but the First Friend, because he will be our friend for always and always and always.'”
—Rudyard Kipling

Sort:  

Thank you for telling this story. Its great to hear that Lucy has some people who care for her. I think that this is a very good photo that showcases the partnership of a boy and his dog. Great Job!

Thank you for following me. As a little festive gift here is an upvote from me.

You can read more about my #festivefollowerfreebie project at :

It makes me sad to hear how mean people can be to animals. It makes you wonder how they treat other members of their family. This pictures makes me think Lucy now has a real family who cares about her and treats her good,

Oh my land, that was such a beautiful post to read, you made me tear up. :D You were so right when you said "every homestead, ... is better with a dog", or six in my case. :D I think life would be so boring with them that I'd probably lose my mind, which I haven't yet, despite what my husband might say. :D
God bless you and your family. Merry Christmas to you all. Have an awesome day! :D

Merry Christmas to you too! There's so much more I could say about Lucy. Like the time I was working from home with the baby and had a minor heart attack when I turned around and the baby had crawled on top of her and was biting her!! And she laid there patiently and gave me a look like 'is this ok mom?' There's a special place in dog heaven waiting for her when she goes.

Its amazing how patient puppy dogs can be, especially when being gummed by little kids. :D I remember when my kids were little and they used to grab onto our dogs tails or ears (or on occasion the poor puppy dogs lips) to help them get up and toddle along and the puppy dog never got angry, just gave us the look that said "How long do I have to let them hang on me before I can tell them to go away?" LOL. :D We've had a lot of beautiful, patient and super loving puppy dogs over the past 26+ years and they've all held a special place in our hearts. :D We look forward to seeing them again some day in heaven, because as the movie title says "All Dogs Go To Heaven". :D
God bless you and your family. I hope you all have a fabulous Christmas and an even better New Year. :D

This made my heart so happy. We lost our Angel a year ago. She will always be the best dog we ever had.

Both of our girls (Lucy and Tlaquacha) are getting older in age and I know their time is coming...it will be a dark day in our family. Have you gotten another yet?

When we lost Angel, she was the oldest of 10 dogs here. Now her second in command, Jack, is the eldest. My son has talked of getting a black lab again when he is on his own. She was 16 when she passed.

My first dog was a black lab! And my parents recently lost Harley, a black lab mix, at 16 or 17. You know they've lived a good life when they hang on for 16 years!

nice photo @aibell
thank you for sharing

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aibell to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81