How To Clean Your Nasty Grout WITHOUT Nasty Chemicals

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

PhotoGrid_1517081851255.jpg

Today is my deep cleaning day here at the farm, and it got me thinking about my fellow "clean living" steemians. My goal here on steemit is to share what I have learned along the way with others, and absorb as much knowledge from other individuals as I can. I know there are many of us here on a journey to learn how to do things ourselves...and we all have come along way.

But, do you remember what it was like in the beginning? When you decided that the harsh chemicals weren't a healthy option for you and your family...but now what? We have been trained as a society to think that we have to use these harsh chemicals to actually get something clean right? Wrong...so very wrong. All of this can be overwelming and frustrating to individuals just starting out.

So then our journey starts to find an alternative...there are healthier cleaners on the market, some with some hefty price tags, and the internet is full of tips and tricks. But do they work? Yes and no...
Some work great...and some just need to be thrown away.

The truth is you don't have to spend a ton of money on natural cleaners to have a clean home. A few simple, cheap ingredients combined in different ways will clean every room in your house, so don't get discouraged...

We clean with an Orange Vinegar Cleaner in our home that we make by simply soaking orange peels in vinegar. It works great on all surfaces and I am very happy with the results. But sadly... I have found it's match...

DSCN3166.JPG

You see, our kitchen countertops are a white tile with white, unsealed grout...not sure what genius decided that was a good idea..but here we are. It absorbs EVERYTHING and ends up looking like this...

DSCN3160.JPG

Gross, I know...sadly I cleaned it right before taking that photo. The good news is that there is a way to get that nasty grout sparkling white without bleach. Plus, you probably already have everything you need in your home already.

DSCN3180.JPG

  • Vinegar
  • Hydrogen Peroxide
  • Baking Soda
  • Scrubber Sponge

When Vinegar and Hydrogen Peroxide are combined they have a natural whitening effect. Simply spray or pour a bit of each all over your grout and let it set for 10-15 mins.

Then sprinkle your Baking Soda over the grout..

FSCN3178.JPG

..and use your sponge to make sure your grout is covered with the mixture.

FSCN3177.JPG

I usually let that set another 10 minutes and then go back with the tough side of the sponge and give it all a good scrub. Then just use your sponge to rinse the area with soap and water... And there you go...

FSCN3173.JPG

It's white again!

DSCN3164.JPG

This method will work for any grout. I use this in our bathroom and our tile floors.

So, if you are a newbie to clean living or someone who is just considering it... It truly is possible, and it doesn't have to be expensive. I hope this post has encouraged you to give it a try!

Thank you for reading,

Happy Homesteading!

IMG_20180122_105440.png

Sort:  

I see your discolored grout, and raise you my former glorious (snort) white tile counters with unsealed, BLACK with crud grout...
0D4020EB-0619-41A1-9FD6-8D170398E8F4.jpeg
Note that I said former... :) I won’t depress you with the white tile overload horror that is the master bathroom.
I commend you for your patience in getting yours so clean! And with natural ingredients!! So I might try your trick on my surviving tile :)

I fold! Wow, I'm glad this is your former countertop, and you don't have to deal with it anymore! I will never understand the logic behind the white grout lol.

It actually doesn't take too much time...I hope it helps with your remaining tile!

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! The Sotall Community has linked to your post here.. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

Thanks so much for this - I was wondering how my grout would ever get white again but now I'm making this recipe and cleaning tomorrow!

~ Kevin

Yay! So glad you found it helpful! Thank you so much for reading.

Impressive results. Our kitchen counter is also tile, so I'll have to try this. Do you think your orange cleaner would work the same with lemon?

Thank you, yes it does! I usually use whatever citrus I have on hand...Lemon works great! I do have a turtorial on my blog of how to make it but essentially you place peels in jar and cover with vinegar. Let that mixture set for about a week while giving it a shake every day or so. Then just strain and store in a jar. I mix the citrus vinegar 50/50 with water in a spray bottle...you could even add additional essential oils if you wanted to.

I love the idea of cleaning with citrus infused vinegar. Thank you so much for sharing that!

You're welcome! It is a great cleaner.

Nice, that looks super white. I might have to use it on my teeth :P

Thanks! Haha...try activated charcoal instead...a bit more gentle for teeth :)

Haha I don't do much of the cleaning stuff, still read everything and dunno why I enjoyed reading it. I thought hydrogen peroxide was used in swelling, didn't got some cleansing properties as well :)

Thanks! It is a great multi purpose item.. Works for getting stains out of fabric as well.

Does wonder vinegar and bicarb soda not used chemical in years. Great post ! 💯🐒

Thank you so much! They are my go to products for cleaning. Amazing what a few inexpensive items can do. Thank you so much for reading!

Thanks for sharing hopeful you change a few people lives but getting them of those dirty chemicals ! 💯🐒

This is wonderful, I wonder if it will
Work on mildew in the shower.

Thank you! If it is in the grout then this would work great. If it is just built up on the walls try heating up about 1/4 cup of vinegar and mix with equal parts dawn blue dish soap (not a super clean option but it works) and spray all over. Let sit for 10 mins then wipe down and rinse...it's amazing.

Smart idea with vinegar and citrus peels. I have a baking soda mix that I use similar to yours. Works well on stainless steel sinks. Thanks for the tips. 🐓🐓

What a great idea! I going to make up some citrus vinegar today. I won't use chemicals of any kind on my homestead. Toxic. Toxic. Toxic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17