Sunset Valley Acres: Our First 8 Months Off-Grid Part 1 and 2 coming this Week

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

My wife, myself, and our little one have been living off-grid for 8 months. This week I'll be posting part 1: the summer months + part 2: the winter months. The posts will be about our experience, what we've learned, what we've enjoyed - most of it, and the dislikes - they fade away as we find easier ways to do daily tasks.

The picture below is the winter sun setting in our valley.

sunsetvalley.jpg

In the picture below you can see the rolling hills, the lake, and the solar panels on top of the cabin roof. Coming this week is also a post about sizing up solar panels for controller charging a battery bank or other electricity needs.

panels2.jpg

We have a modest amount of electricity from the solar panels. Enough to keep the fridge running, with enough left over to charge devices, and as you see below it also provides a little entertainment.

cat2.jpg

The past 8 months have been a fun adventure, I look forward to sharing my reflections and experiences with you in the upcoming posts :)

One of the great benefits I've found living in the cabin has been observing so much more weather and nature than I used to. Below is a picture of the wonderful experience I had last week at around 5:30 AM when I went outside that morning. This is a picture a full moon setting in the west as the sun is rising behind me in the east.

moonsetvalley.jpg

Previous posts you might find interesting:

https://steemit.com/homesteadersonline/@jackdub/prepare-water-containment-for-emergency-conservation-and-off-grid-living

Have a great day!

Sort:  

My goal when I retire is to grab some land (preferably before I retire) back home in Montana and move entirely off grid with the exception of internet (sadly cable tied, satellite won't cut it for me). Full solar with propane redundancy. I'll pick up a surplus diesel genny also. I don't want neighbors for at least a few miles lol.

We use propane for cooking, it lasts a long time and we use less in the winter because we cook more often on the wood stove. It's nice not to have neighbors peeking over your shoulder, but neighbors are usually good about helping out each other when it comes down to it :)

Wireless hub that runs off cell phone towers - we're in cottage country, so there's a decent connection. 100 gig a month, not too shabby, enough for some netflix, prime video, you tube, and steemit :) I'm off electrical grid, but not off wireless communications.

I'm jealous! lol, That must be so good for the mind, body and soul!
I see your doing good with minnowsupport promotion, try using this too,
Use my referral link to this boosting community, which will help you get noticed faster.
https://steemfollower.com/?r=13941
Its a free community to help boost upvotes daily on your most recent post,
Enjoy! Come visit my page for more help posts.

Love the kitties! They add to the colour of life on a homestead. I am looking forward to reading more about how you live off grid.

beautiful place guys and congrats on 8 months!! <3

So many wonderful experiences when you learn to live out in nature .. some hardships too, but they fade with time .. You guys went all in first thing - I can appreciate that .. It seems like now we're both working to meet up in the middle. Thanks for all the support and encouragement @mountainjewel :)

KUDOS Man! My husband and I did this for 11 mos and I cannot imagine having a little one. Looks like you have your own little paradise and got things figured out. Don't think we had quite as much Solar as we didn't have a fridge, we had a Yeti. I wish you the best and I will be following.

You got a 9.17% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @jackdub! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jackdub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16