Winter Ain't Over Yet, Waiting On The Vet & Racking Wine

Oh What A Day We Have Had So Far!


55.jpg

Road conditions on the way out for errands today!


Headin' To The Vet


555.jpg

Headin' to the veterinarian's office for some shots and a re-check on the lump on her shoulder. Waiting anxiously! (you can see the lump on her left shoulder in this picture)


66.jpg

Tired of waiting

Well, she checked out good, got her shots updated and her lump has stayed the same. She's good now until her next check-up in six months.


Racking The Wine


According to the Wine Makers Academy these are the reasons for racking wine.
The three main times when you rack a wine are:

  1. When moving your wine from the primary fermenter to the secondary.
  2. When moving your wine from the secondary fermenter to a bulk aging vessel.
  3. After fermentation you can rack either for clarity or in and out of oak vessels.

When making wine from fresh fruit you’ll want to rack within seven days or so of pitching your yeast to get off of the gross lees. This is the chunky fruit lees that collects at the bottom of your fermentation vessel.


123.jpg

My little helper. She's SO dang nosey!


32.jpg

The end of the run when the cane made the gurgle sound. It surprised her!


3323.jpg

Got it all set up and running

It seemed to take me quite a while to get the siphon working properly; as I didn't want to use my mouth and suck the water through first to get it started. I did it the sanitary way and learned how to make it work better and faster for next time. Live and learn I suppose.

44.jpg

Now we wait 6-8 weeks for the fermenting to continue. Then we should be able to sip the final product!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

So glad she is ok Goldie, I know that stress! that is also a seriously impressive setup :) You guys make homesteading look easy lol, always got something new to show us.

I'm focusing on the aspect of fermenting over the winter months... well, that and soap making and my other health and beauty aids from natural products. Every day is always an adventure here- lol

Me too... she's my world!

Wine!!! I still have a bucket of fermenting goodness to bottle! I forgot!
Glad everyone checked out great, and you were home safe with those roads!
It's looking like up here!

I will be reading up on the bottling part of it now. I have a few weeks but want to get my supplies (bottles) now.

Well you injoy then and stay warm. x

Looking forward to that blog! My last batch exploded a little bit...lol

Looks so good! I'm suddenly incredibly thirsty,haha. Glad your pup is doing good too <3

Yes, me too! She is my partner in crime and shadow...

I don't normally drink alcohol but I will have to sample my own creation!

Oh goodness! You be safe out there on those slick icy roads! So glad she checked out ok. Awe- sweet little pup is such a good helper. Love the color of the wine. Take care and stay warm! <3

The color of the wine is NOT what we were expecting- lol
I told my husband that it's a cross between cotton candy and Pepto-Bismol... he's not laughing! But I am!

My goodness! I wanna try some!!!

I am SOOOO anxious for the 6-8 weeks to tick by.... I will definitely make a post!

It's never fun to take the fur babies to the vet. We have a bunch of older animals at home. Getting older isn't for sissies!

Stay warm @goldendawne! I am NOT looking forward to running errands out in this cold. Brrrrrrr.....

Yeah... they (pets) really do not handle the aging process well- kind of like us!

STAY warm!!

It was a very busy day!

Yes it is.. and it's not even noon yet!
So much more to do today... as usual

Awesome! What type of wine did you make? Looks like the process is going well.

It's a Dago Red wine my husband wanted but I added a pint of blackberries to it all for a little extra flavor.
I have never done this before and I feel so accomplished! lol
Like I can hold my head high and say.. "YUP, I did that!"

YES way to go! Sounds yummy. fermenting is usually empowering i think!

I'm glad your puppy is ok!! I've been very ill for some time now hanging in there be safe in those roads!

Oh, sorry you're not feeling well. I was wondering why I hadn't seen or heard from you.

Yes, me too that she's got a clean bill of health.... now you need to get one too. Take care and hugs!

❤️❤️❤️

More bad weather for you too? Those roads look nasty.

We just had another cold snap here with lows below -30 for the last 3 nights. It's supposed to warm up tomorrow though.

Yeah, another wallop here!

Not sure which is worse... the colder than cold temperatures or the blizzard-like weather- stupid lake effect snow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67