Dividing & Conquering- Thinning The Catnip "Herd"

1.jpg


Ever since I put my catnip, and other inside plants, into my new grow tent, something miraculous has been happening! Everything is flourishing, growing and getting a little jungle like inside. So this morning as soon as my eyes were open enough and I had the constant flow of caffeine running in my system, I took the planter of catnip out of the tent and started trimming. But soon the trimming turned into something more.



Trimming Soon Turned Into Dividing & Conquering


It started innocently... really it did. I began trimming away some dead leaves, some brown spots and stems and before I knew it, I had to change plans.


catnip 3 dead.jpg

Dead leaves and browning stems needed to go.



catnip 4.jpg

Long stems needed more room to grow vertical instead of horizontal. I needed more space for this lovely herb to grow fuller instead of taller



catnip 2.jpg

I gathered a second planter, filled it with seed starter potting soil, saturated the soil and carefully removed one plant; stem and roots completely.


Making sure completely have the entire root is important. I made sure to have the entire root ball together, removed excess dirt and carefully trimmed away any dead looking roots with my garden clippers. After finishing this task, I transplanted the catnip into the moist (prepared) soil. I ended up doing this with two catnip root balls. Once I had those two in the new planter, I sprinkled a few more catnip seeds into the new planter. I want to make sure I will have full growth so when I am ready transplant outside in the spring that I have more than enough. I use catnip a lot for my herbal teas; plus I give a lot to my mom for her tea as well. She has been noticing a significant difference ever since adding catnip to her daily tea drinking. Her arthritis aches are less and she said she has a been able to (under her doctor's care and advice) decrease her prescribed anti-inflammatory medication.


Trimmed & In The Dehydrator


catnip end.jpg

All the healthy catnip I trimmed off goes into the dehydrator and will be chopped later


catnip 1.jpg

I tucked the two planters back into the grow tent and will be checking on the growth of the transplanted catnip over the next week. I have my fingers crossed that this plant transfer will be a success

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

)]
Sort:  

I had no idea catnip was good for arthritis and stiff joints. I'm going to have to look into it further. I love using herbal remedies and treatments whenever possible. But I thought catnip was just marijuana for cats!!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.28$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Great green! Keep post about your garden please, I laik the topic.

I admire your gardening abilities. Are your dehydrated bits saved for your teas?

Yes... I use them when I make my sweet tea and my mom uses it in hers too. I love the smell of catnip too. To me it is a very soothing scent.

My cat would be all over it! Catnip tea sounds delicious.

It really is good- I'm not sure why but the catnip flavor really adds a great touch to the tea.

Awesome post! I haven't grown catnip before, I think I should try it!

It's super easy to grow. I have some outside in the herb and flower garden beds, but I wanted to have it over the winter too, especially since my stash would dwindle down before the plant reached a good harvest peak this spring and summer.

Thats soo cool. I barely can even grow a cactus. Hehe

I used to be the same way, but I was determined to make gardening a priority in my life. All those fresh vegetables to harvest then preserve. Nothing more rewarding!

Oh my goodness, catnip! We grew catnip in our yard and before we realized it was EVERYWHERE! Needless to say our two cats loved it! Glad to see you are preserving it with your dehydrator. Great idea!

While there's not a lot of uses for it, my mom and I definitely put it to good use in our tea. She was by last week and I gave her the last of my stash, so I'm thrilled I was able to get some more today.

Very cool! Catnip is on my list of things to grow, both for the humans and for the cats!

Catnip spreads so easily. You're going to have quite an abundant source! I like the idea of a grow tent...I must have missed when you got it. Good luck with your "jungle". Haha! :)

good luck! cat mint is tough, but sooooometimes finicky. i'm sure it'll bounce back and overwhelm the grow tent by week two LOL 😁

I've never had an issue with growing catnip.. now lemon balm and mint I have. Odd though because all three are all so similar.

I'm hoping for the same thing! Imagine it.. a Catnip Jungle! My neighborhood would be crawling with felines!

a catnip sanctuary! all the felines would be too blissed out to get into squabbles, too 😁

Catnip grows all over here, much to the delight of the cats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95