Homesteaders.... Summer Classes for designing your land!!

in #homesteaders6 years ago

Permaculture is the design science of holistic systems within nature. Usually permaculture is used in dealing with food production, but it is so much richer and more applicable than just that.

salatin-450.jpg

Every serious homesteader should take a Permaculture Design Course to better prepare them for working their land in a way that will allow them to spend less $$ and be more lazy as time passes and their designed land matures.

There is tons of free information online. Geoff Lawton is an amazing permaculturalist. But it costs $5-10 THOUSAND to fly to Australia and take a course with him.

For all North Americans and anyone able to travel, another excellent option is being sponsored by the founder of Permies.com. Paul Wheaton has 200 acres in the Mountains west of Missoula, Montana. This summer Wheaton Labs is hosting three Permaculture courses. There is the Peasant Permaculture Design Course(PDC) going on right now. There is the Homesteaders PDC, and there is the Appropriate Technology Class.

Capture+_2018-06-01-18-58-45.png

I am the new Event and Rental Manager at Wheaton Labs and I would like to invite all Steemians to consider enrolling for one of the two remaining courses.

These are the dates(THEY ARE FAST APPROACHING):

  • Homesteaders PDC: June 23 - July 7, 2018
  • ATC Appropriate Technology Course: July 9 - July 20, 2018

Here are the links to the information pages with the registration information:

Homesteaders PDC

or

The Appropriate Technology Course

I apologize for being late in putting this information out. I just started a month ago and it has been crazy getting up to speed and managing the current PDC.

Thanks for your interest!

I am here to answer all of your questions, and I will be putting up more info and related Posts in the coming days and weeks!!

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Peace!

em3_blue.png
DQmb1Rtf12khtkDMx67EZcXttnYBXiNKu3aQBZFV2oCjmFK.gif

Sort:  

Congrats on your new position!! I met Paul a couple of times in San Diego and have been listening to his podcasts from the beginning :)

Oh cool!
I figured there were at least a few permies people here on Steemit!

Thanks!

Hallo! Great news!

I am the new Event and Rental Manager at Wheaton Labs

Glad you're back again and hope the car incident is cleared now.

The car incident is still puttering along with insurance.

But yes, things are moving forward, thank you!

Thanks, hope you get enough participants.

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

I appreciate that! I also hope for some good enrollment!

Have a wonderful week!
Peace

Thanks for sharing @em3. It's not something I think about everyday but as a teenager I wanted to put together a permaculture green house. The problem now is there is not much of natural environment for us to work with. I have a small piece of mountain behind our house but it is like a jungle. Anything we plant gets eaten up. What made the biggest difference was putting in some bamboo trees. It takes a lot of time I don't have to change the soil and make an environment to actually produce something for us to eat, but little by little I will share my progress. Actually I will share a simple thing I did to give us some more basil in my next post.

I knew you were in Montana but I didn't realize that you were at Wheaton Labs. Must be interesting being there.

Indeed it is!

Let me get onto Discord if you'd like to chat a bit about it sometime.

That sounds fun. I'm not on Discord much but one day we should chat.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66