Last Harvest of the Year...

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

About an hour ago I returned from my day job and the first thing I did was to head over my garden. 

What you see down below is the last cucumber and last harvest I am probably getting this year from whatever is left of my plants..  

Can't spot it? Here, have a closer look:

Not as big as the ones I was getting on summer, but still I am very thankful of the plant, struggling to provide me with its fruits despite the cold.. All my other ones (cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers) have either withered or died of "old age".. 

But this guy is still alive. I planted him early August, and the poor fella didn't have much time to grow nice and big.. But still he gave me plenty of cucumbers, at least 10 if I remember correctly.

And today it's this guy that provides me with the last fruit of the season.. 

Seeing my seeds sprout, getting the first fruit of the year, getting the last... These three are very powerful moments for me, full of emotions.. 

But wait...What's that?

 I see.. There is still some strength left inside you! Maybe, you haven't said your final words yet! Maybe, just maybe I get some more fruits from you. Regardless, thank you!

What did I do next? Normally, I would make a nice Greek salad with feta, olive oil, olives, tomatoes, you know the drill. But this is probably my last fruit of the year. So, I gave it the honor of eating it as is, with no "additives".. 

In case you wonder, it was tasty :)

Sort:  

Your cucumber plant is very proud!

And I am proud of it XD

I have tasted those cucumbers @trumpman! Thanks for the healthy salads you've been giving us all summer...and autumn :P

Καλά, το παντοφλίνι με την κάλτσα ασχολίαστο...

Χαχα σαν Γερμανός τουρίστας.

ειναι οι παντοφλες του κήπου XD

Του κήπου, του σπιτιού, της εκκλησίας, της παραλίας, της βόλτας, του βουνού... Φοβερό και πρακτικό μοντελάκι :P

Me aspri kaltsa!!!xaxax!!!

Φυσικά! Κι αν έχει και τρυπούλα ακόμα καλύτερα για να αερίζεται το ποδαράκι!! :P

oh that's too cool :D well done @trumpman !

Ίσως το πιο νόστιμο που δοκίμασες ποτέ! Φοριέται και το βράδυ ..... με τεκίλα. :)

You have the same idea and plan as me for the day. Once I get the coffee going through me I'll be heading out to gather up the dozens and dozens of green tomatoes and last of the peppers

@originalworks

Hope you got a good number of them ! How long for your season to be over your place?

Hope you got a good number of them ! How long for your season to be over your place?à

oh man that is awesome! I have a small garden myself, I never grew cucumbers. Yet I did grow some snake cucumbers if you know them.
And greek salad is amazing !!

You mean those unedible things? I think I know them, I grow them every year! You should put cucumbers man, they are a relatively easy plant (especially if you have a fence) and they give you so much to ea! After the zucchini they are my favorite plants to grow!

ah no, they're completely edible, and tasty too
check this one out:

yea gardening is awesome ! keep it going bro ;)

hmmmmm, my "snakes" are completely different! Is that a weird cucumber variety or something else? do you maybe know the species? I definitely need some seeds of this!

haha yea i know, they're all crazy and weird
"Armenian cucumber, Cucumis melo var. flexuosus" check it out on wikipedia.
yea and it s really easy to grow too, Mediterranean weather so should work for you bro!

Hmm that kinda looks tasty mate!

This post has received a 2.23 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @trumpman. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Keep it healthy mate :)

You are so lucky to have a garden of yr own...

Next year you will make some food from my veggies! 100 % natural !😊😊😊

Nice post .... I have never tried planting cucumbers. Will maybe try some this summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74