Homestead Update 8-4-2017

in #homestead7 years ago

 Well it’s been a couple weeks I believe since we have done an update, I  was working on the road for week so that slows down my posts, but it  doesn’t slow down the work that needs to be done on the homestead. 

 Let’s start with the garden…


 The garden has started to slow done a little, I think the heat we had  last month kind of put a damper on thing with temps in the low 100’s and  the heat index in the 120’s was a little much.  The plants looked  pretty good the heat spell that lasted three weeks but now the damage is  starting to show. 
Our squash has just about had it and our giant pumpkin bit the dust! 

 The tomato worms have found the tomatoes, so now it’s a daily chore to inspect and remove the giant worms. 

 The tomatoes are producing pretty good still, we were harvesting 20 to  30 pounds every two or three days, now it’s a little less than once a  week. 

 Peppers are doing pretty good 

 This morning’s Harvest 

 I  know we picked the bell peppers sooner than they should be picked but  we are canning Bloody Mary mix today since it is going to rain all day.   

Look for a post on how we get that done!

Items we need to get done this weekend:

Turn the compost pile 

 Feed the plants, especially the tomatoes & peppers 

 Clean up all the branches from the tree topping we did on our flowering pear trees & of Course work on the List! 

 

The Chickens are doing great!  

Funny Story I  went out to collect eggs on Wednesday and I open the layer boxes on the  first side and there are no eggs….  Open the other side, no eggs!  I  look briefly under to coop no eggs!  

I am now thinking someone stole my eggs!  


So,  I am looking round the coup and I see that somehow, I had closed the  door after I let them out earlier in the morning, they could not get it  to lay their eggs.  So, I opened the door and six of them ran inside to  do just that.  I looked a little harder and found a bunch hidden next to  the tire hidden out of site, I had to slither on my belly in you know what  to get to them, kinda nasty but I got them and surprisingly they all  were clean!  Me on the other hand not so much.  Guess what I will be  checking to make sure the door is open every morning!


The Chicks are growing so fast now, and they have taken a liking to pecking at my boots. 

 

And finally its going to rain all day today, its been a little more than  a week since out last rain so it is much appreciated, thank you Lord! 

 

There is so much more to tell but this has gotten long enough so we will say good bye until next time, ya all have a great day! 


Bob && Colleen Browning

Serenity Valley Farms

Monticello, KY


Check us out at…..

Follow us on STEEMIT: https://steemit.com/@svfarms

And Facebook: www.facebook.com/Serenity-Valley-Farms-167719676966401/

And on Instagram: www.instagram.com/serenityvalleyfarmers/

Check out our Website: www.serenityvalleyfarms.us 


Sort:  

Impressive tomatoes you've got there, I could do with a checklist like that because I'm always forgotten things I need to get done in the garden

We are pretty happy with them. I tell ya the older I get and my wife having had three strokes, both our memories are on the down hill slope. I wish I would have started making list 10 years ago, I would have gotten so much more done! Thanks for the comment

PS..... I am happy to be your 501st follower, impressive keep up the good work!

Thanks a lot buddy, keep up the good work too :)

i am not sure who is responsible for the shot in the arm, but thank you! It is truly appreciated....

I'm not certain but @pharesim has a post about a new voting bot

Just a clue.

Thanks for the info, I will look into that!

I have a farm too and I love cultivating fruits and vegetables, good job! upvoted and follow

Thanks for the comment good luck with your place!

Thanks - upvoted. You may be interested in a new project I have started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project [August 2017 Signups]

I saw you had great success when your article was promoted by Curie; I hope you can find similar success moving forward. Thanks for reading.

I will check this out, thanks!

It is a blessing to be able to reap the fruits of the earth thanks to the effort of the work, excellent @svfarms

It is a lot of work, but as we learn more and more, we figure out ways to lighten the load. Thanks for the comment!

I love getting to see the daily updates from the various farms and homesteads on Steemit. Your chicks look great (ours are still quite tiny!), and OH MAN do I commiserate with the "to do" list. Since we've been home here for about four months, the amount of work that needs to be done sometimes seems staggering if we write it all out.

Hope things are going well for you today, and it's nice to meet you on Steemitland!

Another brilliant articles. There are so many interesting moments starting to inspire me. Very exciting for me. I wish you the best of luck, also wait for an interesting thought from you! I wait for new articles!

Thank you for the kind words!

great shoot !

I like You Blog @svfarms

I am Isabella Chloe And Born in El Monte california


I'm wrting post about Animals if you interested! Then must Follow my Blog Thank you

@animal-lovers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44