Time to Eat (or drink) Fresh!

in #homestead7 years ago

During the winter season it's easy to fall into bad eating habits when you don't have seemingly endless amounts of homegrown produce taking over the kitchen and root cellar begging to be dealt with. We tried to grow greens in the greenhouse this winter but without a heat source, they just didn't make it. But now!!! 15211335344391478746154.jpg
1521133585133314671817.jpg

The days are longer and warmer and they have really taken off!! I am going to take full advantage of this to try to shed some unwanted pounds and sneak in some green deliciousness into my children's diets
20180315_113515.jpg
Behold the green smoothie! I plan on drinking one of these as a meal replacer for lunch every day since that is the time I tend to overindulge in foods I need to stay away from. And if I make them just right the kids will drink some too. And we can make lots of yummy salads! For the smoothie it's
2 to 3 cups tightly packed greens
1 cup (berries, mangoes, pineapple) or 1 piece fruit (apple, banana, orange etc)
1 cup of nut milk or water
1 scoop protein powder or other source of protein
1 tbsp fat (coconut oil, chia seeds, avacado)
Sweetener if desired (I use a little stevia)
20180315_113255.jpg

As you can see, there's alot of variety and you can get a different flavor every day which I love. I've been replacing lunch with one of these for 4 days and have not gotten hungry for at least 3 hours after. I also haven't been craving sugar and junk food as much either!

We are ready for growing season! Time to eat fresh again! As a side note, here are all of our tomtoes, peopers and broccoli started inside. We'll be planting these in the next week or so!1521133470967-1497439111.jpg

Sort:  

Ohhh, I'm with you, I'm longing for some good fresh produce too! We're hoping to grow our own spinach this year so we can quit buying it for our daily breakfast smoothies!

Look at all those plants already!
Can you taste any of the greens in your smoothie?

Slight taste when using blueberries and really none is using strawberries. Amazing flavor and so healthy!

such a happy assortment of seeds, i just love it! :)

i'm curious as to what lettuce tastes like in a smoothie, as well. i usually keep my greens localized to soups (still blended, so like a warm smoothie bowl!)

I use the lettuce for salads and the spinach and kale for the smoothies!

Those greens are looking good. What is the greenhouse built up against?

The exterior (North and lower section of the South wall) of the greenhouse is built with 5" high density foam panel that is aluminum coated. We saved it from the local landfill!

Oh ok, I thought it was the side of a shed or something. That is an awesome salvage!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80