The perfect chicken house for me

in #homestead7 years ago

I knew I wanted chickens and knew they would need a decent sized house since I already knew I wanted road island reds. So I searched and searched and searched for different ideas and plans that fit what I wanted. I wanted a house that was 1) free standing 2) a slanted roof to collect rain water off 3) big enough for me to get in there and work comfortably and 4) with options of Windows for ventilation.

So here's the link to the chicken house plans I used https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/my6chickss-chicken-coop.48542/

image.jpeg
This is what was built. On the left is what it was like for a few months before my dad cut out the windows and I treated everything with a sealant.

image.jpeg
My dad got a little creative with the chicken run, we have a lot of predators in our area ranging from neighbors dogs, opossum, raccoons, snakes, and Hawks. We were told by numerous people to make sure we had a place that was safe for the chickens to be. We thought of many different ways to do a covered run that was also structurally sound. My dad used those u shaped prongs to attach cattle panels to 4x4's and hooped it up after attaching chicken wire to it. Me and my mom then attached a tarp to cover the food and one of the outside roosts for when it rains and to provide shade
image.jpeg

image.jpeg
Nest boxes
image.jpeg
Roost

Now, for another chicken house. I got 5 blue-laced red wyandotte chicks (if you don't know what those are, look them up they are beautiful!) and needed a house for them. I'm planning on keeping them separate from my road island reds to keep their breed separate so I can sell their babies. This is the coop me and my dad threw together keeping in mind that I wanted it to be 4x4 and with a slight slant to the roof to collect water like the big one.
image.jpeg

image.jpeg
Put the door on and the mesh for the vents and got the chicken door braced shut so critters can't get in.
image.jpeg
And the inside all set up for growing chicks now that they are three weeks old.

Enjoy the information, I hope this reaches a few people who are looking for inspiration.
Blessings!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sarahjayn0801! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

WOW!!!! LOVE IT! That chicken run is so nice! And i can't even wait to see those little blues grow up. How cool that you have the space to keep them seperate from the other breed. We just had a family kill one of our chickens last night ): now im down to 2!? But I found out I'm allergic to eggs so I guess it doesn't matter much now. But I give them all of our compost to dig through. Anyways, I love this post! So glad to see you doing all this stuff!

I think I'd still do chickens even if I was allergic to eggs, like you said about compost, I give our table scraps and grass I pull from the garden, and chicken is delicious lol. And they are just fun, they all have different personalities too

oh yeah I certainly want to keep having chickens (:

Hey you should start doing these Homestead Challenges with me ... This is the 2nd one so far and they are great for coming up with ideas for what to write and you can win too!
https://steemit.com/homesteadingchallenge/@kiaraantonoviche/steemit-homesteadingchallenge-2-theme-announcement-and-rules-sbd-reward-for-winner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33