The chickens time!


chicken-3369105_640.jpg

Hey people! No surprise here, I am building something else!


Actually, I started to build something else, as rarely finish what I start
(Damn, I should change myself :P). Anyway, I decided to become an all-in farmer, and as I am a happy meat eater, (Vegans, don't even start. Nobody beats me in arguments. You've been warned :D ) I thought is time to get some chickens in my yard. Growing the veggies and the meat sounds like the right combo for me. Oh, and next year I plan to get at least two beehives.
Say hello to homemade honey babe!

So, chickens. Yep, about ten of them for start and I need a special yard for that. We have loads of stray dogs around, also foxes and other predators. Said and done, let's get to work!

After I negotiated with my better half (She might be some really good disguised demon though) the perfect spot for our future grills, I got to work.


curte inceput.jpg

Nothing fancy, just a few poles fixed in some holes I dug. Next thing it was some metal wire from which I hung up the chickenwire.


chickenwire.jpg

Eh, that was the easy part. The fun part just begins :). I need to make sure that no dog or any unwanted four-legged animal get to those spicy wings before me. Luckily I still have some wire left, and loads of those roof tiles, easy peasy :) !


fixare.jpg

However, in order to make them sit still, I have to compress the soil somehow. Oh, come on, just call me Flinstone MacGyver, please :))) !


ciocan constructie.jpg

How it works? Glad you ask, like a charm :D!


ciocan1.gif

And here is one taken by my wife after full fifteen minutes of hysterical laughter. Do I look that bad? I mean, she was still laughing when taken the pictures, lol!


ciocan.gif

Finally, I made it to almost an end. Left to make the gate, I wonder when that will be done :)))!


curte final.jpg

Of course, I have to build a cotineata chicken house or whatever that is called in English. It might be tomorrow or next month, who knows? I will let you know when the time comes.


What I can be sure of, the next post is about medicinal plants. Gathering and processing them, all in-house.

This is it for now! Have a great day, evening, whatever time is for you when reading this ;)!

Instead of sending you to some old posts, I invite you to follow me for more stone age stories. I have so many things to do around, you would not believe :D !


source


Sort:  

What kind of chickens are you getting?

We were working on our chicken run today too. You have to really make the bottom parts secure because the chickens dig a big hole and get out.

Those red ones for now, just like in the picture.

You have to really make the bottom parts secure because the chickens dig a big hole and get out.

True :).

Hi greenlover. This is my first reply on your post. You have great job at me. Ilike your job.

Cheers man :). Thank you for passing by.

I love that "cotineata" :)

Mulțam fain, cotineața este încă în lucru 😂. Urmează să postez și procesul creației. Teaser: o sa fie ceva românesc, cu multă sârmă 😁.

Nu face romanul orice cu o sarma si un patent? :)

This post has been featured in the @offgrid-online - Weekly Review Curation - Thank you for sharing your knowledge and personal experience with preparing for chickens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49