Could I be too old to Homestead?

in #homestead7 years ago

I write this as I have a catheter connected to a Foley bag after surgery to reduce my prostate. I wonder only because in the last two years I have had three surgeries dealing with my “nether” region. Hernia, Hydrocele, and now this; not to mention a rotator cuff injury from the end of August that is on the mend.

So I think maybe I should revisit my plans for the way I want to homestead. I had always wanted cows and pigs in the mix. Perhaps I don’t have the physical strength to deal with larger animals. This will have to be a consideration.

Certainly I would be able to take care of chickens and rabbits. Also the gardening. I doubt I would even have the capability to build my own dwelling ( or have a hand in it). Sorry, such gloomy thoughts on this gloomy day (here in NYS).

On a positive note. I have found that God might not give you what you ask for, but will always give you what you need when you need it. Just a post of thoughts, I haven’t posted in awhile and thought I should. 73CBD096-EB24-4442-917A-9ECA1E8CA699.png

Sort:  

Be strong brother...and be self sustaining

Sorry to hear about your health issues, that foley catheter is no fun, especially when it's time to remove it! Been there before...

Thanks. Hopefully everything will be okay to have it removed Tuesday.

Loved your post! 100% Upvote. I empathize bc we face these same issues. Wouldn't it be nice if we could get co-operative networks with in-towners and rurals to have the best of both worlds! Followed you.

I am here to support homesteaders and wanna be homesteaders, so I tossed in 20cents.
But...yeah, it sounds like you may not be in for typical homesteading.

Not sure of your financial means....but one option, if you are well off enough(obviously not rich),

Is to take on a younger family or single person that is wanting to learn to farm and homestead. Pay him a small wage, and give him use of your land, and then split the produce. His/her brawn and youthful drive, and your wisdom and resources could make it happen for both of you.

It will be tough to find a good match....but if you are serious, you can make it happen!!

Good luck and wish you all the best!!

Thank you for the advice. I think I was just feeling a little sad. The weather may keep family and friends away for Christmas dinner.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @industriousliv to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @industriousliv

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45