How I Pick Up Chicks

in #homestead5 years ago

In a box. Duh!

Last week, my husband's work told him he was being sent on a business trip at the end of May. I did a little quick math and realized if I was going to get chickens in the freezer before we left I needed to get chicks NOW. If I do not have my chickens done by July 4th, I won't do them. They start dying of heat stroke after that, and that is not fun. We have a hatchery in the big city so I ordered 30 chicks and yesterday was my hatch day.


THESE ARE OFFICIALLY SPRING CHICKENS
20190320_172107.jpg
All photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy Luna Pro cell phone which refuses to speak to my computer any more, so they were emailed from my phone, then down loaded, then cropped because for some reason my photos all show up upside down on steemit if I do not edit them at least a little. Technology is a mixed blessing at best...

I start new chickens out with a bit of boiled egg yolk. This will be crumbled up and after they chow it down, I will fill the feed tray with chick starter. I tried making my own chick mash a couple times, and finally decided it is too much work and a bit too risky. One of my attempts killed a couple birds, it was too moist and glued their beaks together. Some of the lessons around the farm are brutal.


Resized_20190320_171539.jpeg

I also like to put just a bit of organic apple cider vinegar in their water, for all the same reasons every naturopath in the world tells me I should drink it. I am NOT drinking that nasty stuff, but the chicks will! I also throw rocks in the waterer base to keep the chicks from falling in and drowning in it. Yes, I have had that happen too. For the record, I wash the rocks well and soak them in vinegar for a bit to make sure they are not going to react with the vinegar in their water.

(

I have a thermometer that I put down in their box with them. It sends data to my alarm clock / weather station inside so I can tell how warm they are without going outside myself. OK, I admit it... when technology is helpful it is very, very helpful...


20190320_213330.jpg

I also have a visual on them from my living room which is pretty convenient. The old RV needs a deep cleaning, so before I jump in to all that, might as well brood some chicks in there! It keeps them safe from predators, out of the wind, and I can peek in on them whenever I want!


20190320_184652.jpg

The season shifted here right on cue it seems. My south slope is totally snow free. The creeks are running, my high desert property is a swamp for a little while. I love this time of year. My little creek has a little waterfall, so I have the "babbling brook" sound when I open a window or door. The migrating birds are rolling through and we have some outstanding bird watching around here. Today it is supposed to cloud up again, but still get up into the fifties. YAY!!!


20190320_184333.jpg

Of course, winter is still clinging to the north faces of everything. It is a fun time of year, from pure white landscapes to checkerboards. Some of the south slopes are already green with young grass, while the backside of the same hill still has a foot of snow on it. It has been a good, gradual melt off at least, I think we are not going to have any huge floods this year. Yay again!


20190320_184338.jpg


HAPPY SPRING and NAMASTE!!

Sort:  

My aunt tells this story that one time a neighbor called the cops on her after the neighbor asked her how she killed the chickens after they were raised. My aunt being really old school took a hold of a chicken's head then swung it around in a circle to break it's neck then hung it up on a line...the neighbor looked horrified at her and my aunt told her not to worry they stop kicking around in a few minutes. The sheriff showed up and told the lady look that's just how they do things coming from down south.

🤣That'll teach her to ask questions!

Awesome post @fishyculture! This brought back memories of when I helped to raise chicks but that was for show chickens..yep, people show chickens like dogs, cats, bunnies and the like. I love the Bragg ACV! It is good for animals and people. I love it and take it myself but gotta cut it with some/lots of water. ;)

I forced myself to drink it for two weeks once, some detox thing, but I would literally gag and choke like a two year old lol!
Show chickens are a big thing around here, I just do not get into it. Doing them for food, I prefer to keep things rather impersonal...🙄

Lol..it's not for everyone. ;)
I totally understand that and best to keep it that way. Some breeds are more mean than others too. Had a particularly nasty brown leghorn put his spurs through my calf many years ago. If I lived on a farm then I would be like you and raise them for eggs and food too.

They look like spring chickens too! So you feed them egg yolk - I suppose it makes sense. It sounds like raising chicks is a hazardous task - they seem to be likely to die from just about everything.

Anyway good to see the thaw is setting in for you, spring and summer is on the way!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It rained all last night and most of the day. The snow is all but gone, I love how it just transforms before my eyes!

One day i will pick up some chicks too. Good read and thanks for sharing some pointers.

@splatz worthy

Lol! Thank you!

You made me laugh again. @dswigle is right, you are very funny. I'm still smiling thinking of your photography abilities with a cell phone.

Thank you! Making people laugh makes me smile all day long!

nice i have one of those Oregon wireless thermometers too. I call this turdblossom season as the melting snow reveals all the dog turds, scooped up about a million turds yesterday.

Lol! Yep, they are blooming here, too. We do not even have a dog...

Dear fishyculture:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94