Sort:  

$89 and weigh about 30-40lbs each... they will last about 5-7 years unless something goes wrong like last time which is very rare.

AHA! so a thousand dollars worth would pretty much power my houseboat and do double duty as ballast!

a $1000 would be about 11 batteries equaling 1100 ah which would be more than enough to power a small house and certainly a boat. .

I'm building a 'battery trough" on top of the keel and under the floor. The boat had twin Volvo Pentas so I expect it can handle the weight.

be sure to vent the batteries to let the gases escape and not blow you up...

that would be a bad day.
I was considering sealed batteries for that very reason.
or perhaps (gasp) lithium ion.

the only batteries i know of that dont gas (even sealed ones) are the AGM batteries and they run around $350 for a 100ah battery. my new ones here are sealed and have a gassing warning. lithium batteries have to be charged just right or BOOOM...

well fooey.
back to the drawing board.
I suppose I'll have to put the batteries where the engines were...(I can do that)...it has a vent (and had blowers) to the outside)

I guess I'll use the keel trough for non flammable storage...or maybe just leave it open as a companionway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91