IT WORKED...The eggs hatched!

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

This is so cool!

We successfully hatched our first chicken eggs.
IMG_0494.JPG

One of our hens was getting broody

We decided to let her sit on some eggs. I put six eggs under her, hoping that maybe one would hatch. It was an exciting surprise when we had them all hatch out!IMG_0496.JPG

We have several different types of chickens on the farm. It will be interesting to see what these chicks turn out to look like. I am hoping that a couple of them are hens, and that they all aren't roosters haha.

HERE is this weeks vlog with the baby chicks.

Thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  

Yay for babies! Is it's little foot ok?

It is so exciting! I noticed that as well after looking at the photos. It is fine, just was curled up while sitting on my hand. Thanks for the concern.

Oh good. Such a little cutie!! Chicks are our favorites.

Congrats on the new additions to your family! They are pretty darn cute :) Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! Yes and they are so fun to watch.

CHICKENS!!! YEAH!

It sure is exciting!

Cutie pie!! Congratulations to you and your mama hen! Bravo!

Thank you! They are so much fun to watch. Wow do they grow fast! It is so amazing to see how much bigger they are then when I did the vlog.

So adorable. Keep up the great work - and taking care of those cuties. :) Can't wait to hear more about your chicken adventures.

Congrats on the new arrivals, we have had many hatchings this year. Trial and error around the coop and such. I eventually want to get to 200 eggs a day.
I'm close to being comfortable with 100 for now.
Now following for more
Cheers

Thank you! and I just followed you as well. 200 a day sounds like a lot, but that would be pretty awesome. We get around 14-16 per day. That is enough for all of us to eat. Eventually I'd like to be getting more so that we can sell them.

I'm looking for a sneeky way for my wife to earn income :-) Every time we get poor and I say " maybe find some work to help out " Same reply from her " I need more schooling first " LOL
Worthy of a blog some day, I might even start a #mywife series should go good in the funny section too LOL
Cheers
200 eggs a day could support us forever, and keep her in sandals and panties to boot! Plus all the beer and rum I could ever drink.
Life is Good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74