You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 22 Years of Homeschooling

in #homeschooling8 years ago

My wife and I think a lot about home schooling. I especially like the idea of unschooling. We are currently at a Montessori school now and it is a great fit for my 4 and 6 year old boys. However, it is expensive and I do think I could do a better job if I was able to focus on this.

I have some questions:

How many hours did you spend per day on average?

Could you spend an hour or two a day and cover the same amount of material as they would do in full day at school leaving the rest of the time for unschooling / free play?

Thanks for the article, its good. I hope you get some traction.

Sort:  

Hi, I spent, on average about 4 hours, 4 days per week teaching. I let them have most Fridays off. And yes, some days we had a lot of extra time for free play. Thank you!

You can be so creative with home/Unschooling! Could you do 2-3 hours of "instruction" each day and your parenting partner do 1-2? Could you "teach" during evening hours after work? Some weekends? There are likely homeschool coops near you (or create one!!) that would allow you to teach a certain subject and then another homeschooling family could teach a different subject? Extracurricular experiences just = LIFE! Music lessons? Sports teams? Dance lessons? Woodshop classes? 4H or FFA? Trips to the grocery store? Museums? Farms? ALL OF THIS is learning! Isn't it wonderful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95