You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking about homeschooling? Here are some points to consider

While I absolutely believe homeschooling is a valid and valuable option for educating kids in certain families (where one parent doesnt work) I really really really think there needs to be an assessment of the parent to determine if they are competent enough to conduct an entire curriculum.

I've met people who ranted and raved about the merits of homeschooling only to find out that they themselves were severely biased in their views of science (disputing indisputable facts), pathetic in their understanding of grammar, and completely reliant on computers to solve math problems (data entry was what they were teaching, not understanding of the concepts). These people had no right "teaching" their kids at home and probably hampered their future prospects in terms of higher education and jobs.

Now, I fully expect every anti-establishment anarchist to come after me with torches and pitch forks, but you cant deny that some people simply dont have the basic skills to be an educator.

Sort:  

I cannot disagree with your comment and observation. I do think, however, that the more we shame others and their views, the harder they hold on to them. I think a more sustainable approach is just to offer new ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44