Getting Ready for My FIRST Handmade Soap Show!

in #homeschooling6 years ago

I guess since I'm new here, Steemit allows a limited amount of "Steem" to be able to post comments. I assumed that was true of posting blogs too, so I didn't try to blog anything for a couple of days. If you were wondering why I was quiet already, it's because I chose to wait for my privilege to "recharge" rather than buy Steem. Since I was able to make a comment this morning with another Steemian, I thought maybe I was good to go now. So let me tell you about my week if I can...

I am quite excited for my first soap vending opportunity! I have been online for a year now. It's been a good first year.
(If you ever tried starting your own business, you KNOW that the first year or two is slow and that is okay. As long as you are getting SOME business, then you ARE being successful. It takes time to build whatever it is you are doing. Be encouraged!)

And what is my opportunity? There is a Ladies' Retreat, at which women vendors are to come and sell their goods. We were asked to donate a gift to each person coming. This is to make the weekend special and to let the retreat-goers feel special and pampered. I'm more than happy to oblige! I got to work with my trusty Pampered Chef knife, cut some sample sized soaps and wrapped them pretty!

wrapping samples.jpg

You can see a nicer picture on my Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/BpCf7B2H9sG/?taken-by=lathersforlife

This week has been interesting getting ready for this special event, while homeschooling my boy. As you can see, I still love the old books for teaching him to read, although I use modern ones too.

reading.jpg

And while I am diverting my conversation to homeschooling for a moment, let me share this fun idea for all of you teachers and homeschooling mamas! I like to pull out some fun cereal or fish crackers to help my 1st Grader with math. Learning should be fun as often as possible!

math with fruit cereal.jpg

As I said, it's been interesting this week because I've had to juggle the homeschooling while preparing for the show, which I'm thankfully not doing every week. It can be done though. This boy loves to learn as well as pretend that he is the teacher, which is great! This way, he takes interest in what he is learning and things go more smoothly as we work on his lessons together. He was in public school last year. I have to say, weeks like this make me wish to send him back to public school for just a week -- that's all. But of course it doesn't work that way. It's okay. I can do this.

I've gotten a lot done, with shrink wrapping and labeling, as well as packing up the soap, making bath fizzies, (they are here: https://www.instagram.com/p/BpGFTd4HbiG/?taken-by=lathersforlife ) and starting a batch of sugar scrubs, but there is so much more to do! In fact, I hear the water boiling for melting the butters for the whipped body butter! And I gotta get my son started on his school day. So with that note, I'd better go, and I'll catch up with you all next week!

shrink wrapping.jpg

Sort:  

oh how fun!!!
I'm a homeschooling mompreneur too! hehehehe and yes - since our last upgrade to the system (in order to make our amazing Steemiverse more scalable for the future!!) accounts have been restricted to the amount of activity that they can do based on their SP holdings :)

I'm the founder mommy of the @welcomewagon, and we love to come alongside newbies to train, support, encourage, etc! :)

Really enjoyed reading your blog! Let me know if you have any questions at all! I'll be happy to help!

Welcome to Steem! I'm so glad you're here. We need more mad soapers! @dreemsteem's offer is genuine and you won't find a better person to help you on your journey here.

Welcome To Steem! from the @welcomewagon

Small Welcome Wagon.png

Congratulations @buysoaphere! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77