Food Education Project "Gohan Power" / 食育プロジェクト Gohan Power

in #homeschooling6 years ago (edited)

17917174_295715300849540_725942950959681575_o.jpg

Do you have something you want to teach your kids or kids in your surrounding? Food is one of the thing I want to think about together with my daughter and her future friends.

With the support of Social Impact Lab Leipzig, I was working on a food education kit for family with 5-7 years old kids last year.

As I myself like to eat and cook and enjoyed food related projects & works I did, I wanted to tell especially to young kids taste of local and seasonal food, nutrition basics, various food cultures and eating habits, how can we eat friendly to environment etc. Then I started the project “Gohan Power”, which means power of food (Gohan means food, meal or rice in Japanese language). I like its nicely funny English-Japanese mixture name made by my partner.

Initially we thought about making family version of Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University provided on Coursera as a monthly subscription box with a small cooking tools and ingredients, which is not easily available. The reason we didn’t think about packing everything was that we wanted to encourage families to visit market.

However as I was pregnant for our first child when we started designing the box, the idea was too idealistic ;) I didn’t know the reality of living with kids (yes we buy frozen pizza more frequently now). And I started wondering do families need items monthly. Personally it will be too much for me. Then the project went to redesigning phase or to say hibernating phase after the Social Impact Lab program.

I found Onigiri (Japanese rice ball) makers for the project we made with Japanese prototyping studio MERGETECTS to introduce Japanese food and culture.

17991117_298667480554322_3505061532742783297_n.jpg

18033801_298667413887662_3239427469582671213_n (2).jpg
(Photos by MERGETECTS)

I’m happy to see and touch the beautiful wooden Onigiri makers again. They popped in my eye sight as if they said “Hey it’s time to start the project again.”

Then I started writing about a post of Gohan Power here. Writing about the concept or what I want to tell regarding to food on Steemit can be a good small start. I’m happy to take my daughter and her friends to market, buy food and cook together. This format can be spread as a kind of on site food education :) I feel it fits more to my preference to go for a monthly box subscription business. The market visit & cooking format may solve nursery spot shortage problem.

Good things take time but also good to take an action. I slowly restart the Gohan Power project by writing about food education on Steemit.

I’m happy to hear from you. What do you think about kids food education? If you are positive about food education, what do you tell? What is useful you learned in your childhood? For me nutrition basics I learned in house hold class in junior high and high school are useful and I learned a lot about food from my mother and my grandma by shopping & cooking and gardening together.


子どもに教えたいことはありますか?食はもう少し子どもが大きくなったら教えたいというか一緒に考えたいことのひとつです。

一昨年から昨年にかけて Social Impact Lab Leipzig の社会起業をサポートするプログラムで子どものいる家族向けの食育キットを作っていました。

私自身食べるのが大好きで、これまでにしてきた食に関する仕事も楽しくて、地域の季節の食材、栄養の基礎、他の国の食文化、食習慣の多様性、環境に配慮した食べ方などを一緒に考えていけたらという思いからはじめたプロジェクトで Gohan Power といいます :)

当初の目標は Coursera で提供されている Child Nutrition and Cooking という子どもの栄養と料理に関するコースの家族向け毎月版で、小さな冊子とちょっとした調理道具や食材のおまけがついてくるような食育キットを作ろうとしていました。

ただいかんせん構想を練っていた時は赤ちゃんがまだお腹にいる時で、今思って見ると頭の中がお花畑・・・。子どものいる家庭のリアリティーをわかっていなくて、そもそも必要なのってモノなのかなという疑問も出てきて、Social Impact Lab のプログラム終了後は少し考え直す期間に突入していました。

今日家兼仕事場の片付けをしていて、当時日本の食文化を紹介するためにお友達の工房 MERGETECTS さんに作ってもらった木製のおにぎり型をみつけて、いいできだなあと手ですりすり。

17991117_298667480554322_3505061532742783297_n.jpg

18033801_298667413887662_3239427469582671213_n (2).jpg
(Photos by MERGETECTS)

そろそろまたプロジェクト始めどきだよーとおにぎり型が言っているのかも。赤ちゃんももうすぐ赤ちゃんを卒業しそうだし、マーケットには美味しい春の食材も出てくるし、Gohan Power を再開するいいタイミングではと考え始めました。

Steemit で書き始めるところからスロースタートして、知っている子どもたちとマーケットに行って、食材を一緒に見て料理して、食について知るみたいなフォーマットを作って、それを広められるといいのかな。

そんなこんなでまた食育で動き始めたくて、食育とは何か、何を教える(ともに勉強する)といいのか、これを習ってうれしかったなどコメントでご意見いただけたらうれしいです。私は家庭科で習った栄養学の基礎や、母や祖母が買い物に連れていってくれたり、一緒に野菜を育ててくれたりしたのがとても役に立っています。

Sort:  

私の母は食についてとても厳しかったので、それは今でも記憶に残っています。
今では母も一緒に新しい(外国の)野菜を育てたりしています(^^♪

なんか似てるかも :) うちの母の思い出といえば母がケチャップあんまりだったことから中学生くらいまでうちにケチャップがなかったり、ジュースお祝い事以外ではなしだったり、厳しいとはちょっと違うのかもしれませんがあれこれありつつ今ではおいしいもの食べ食べ仲良くしています。
ガーデニングのシーズンはじまりますね!野菜ポスト楽しみにしています〜

似ていますね!
私の母は駄菓子もジュースもダメで、小学校の遠足はみんなが駄菓子屋の駄菓子を持って行く中、私は母手作りのクッキーを持って行っていました!笑 昔はみんなと違って嫌だったのですが、今思えば母の思いが詰まったクッキーだなんて嬉しいことだな、と思います(^^)

とっても時間のかかるキャロライナリーパー(世界でトップクラスの唐辛子)の種をまかなくては!と思っていますが、なかなかガーデニング日和がやってきません(>_<)

キャロライナリーパー初めて聞きました。おもしろいですね。今タネの分散データベースのプロジェクトにも少し関わっていて、チームの人に話してみます :)

赤ちゃん、もう少しでも赤ちゃんを卒業されるんですね。食を意識されている @akipponnさんのところに生まれることが出来て、幸せですね。あっ、自分で選んで来たのか!

いつまで赤ちゃんかって話なのですが、ちょっと遠くから眺めて見たらなんかずいぶん大きいぞと思って。うちでよかったのかな、、、よかったであってほしいので最善を尽くすします ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63