Using Steemit for schooling, home school style

in #homeschool7 years ago (edited)

My followers know I home school my son. Being on the spectrum he would be left behind in Public School, I know this for a fact because we tried that and he regressed in skills. I found Steemit over the summer and after a few weeks I got my son @ultrawing to join. He has been posting game reviews since joining. But hasn't been an every day poster.

A few weeks ago I came up with an idea for part of his English grade (It is only going to be 10% of his grade because he does an English curriculum) and a way for him to earn some money for his future. His assignment to post every day Monday thru Friday on Steemit. That I hope people will give constructive criticism and support to him to help him improve his writing.

He did a another review today for his first official assigned post you can find it here.

https://steemit.com/gaming/@ultrawing/ultra-s-reviews-kirby-s-adventure-and-kirby-s-nightmare-in-dreamland-nes-wii-wiiu-3ds-gba

And here is the proof he wrote it.

DSC_0001.JPG

DSC_0002.JPG

DSC_0006.JPG

And please excuse of mess we live here and this isn't a show home.

If you get a chance go give him some feedback on his post, but don't be a jerk about it, if you see errors be constructive when you give feedback to him. And remember "Steemit Social Media, Done Right

Sort:  

Nice Idea to boost the enthusiasm of your son. Let's see if it works. Good luck!

He is good about doing his school assignments so it will work even if he doesn't want to do it he will because he wants good grades.

You are brave indeed home-schooling : ) Here's wishing you and your son the best of luck in your steemit life!

upvote

I kind of had no choice, the school district where we lived when my kids were small sucked. And some how it has gotten worse than it was then. We no longer live in that district but the school district we are in isn't any better. So it was home school my kids or let them get left behind or get into trouble out of boredom. (My old was reading at a college level in 2nd grade the school solution was to send her to the library for 4+ hours a day and though that isn't totally bad it isn't what she needed)

Yeah, I kinda got that treatment from the 4-6th grade. I was so far ahead of my class mates in math that for those three years I tutored 2nd graders in math during my normal math class time. And I remember being rebuked in college Psychology class for not paying attention, but when the Professor tried to embarrass me by asking me several questions on her lecture, only to be given correct answers to her. Some folks are blessed with the ability to multi-task and if you cann't feed us information fast enough, you're simply going to put us to sleep.

Again, you're brave indeed and best of luck.

It was cool that she out read all the other students combined in 2nd grade but I was like give her something to challenge her. they didn't have the funds to do that. So I brought them all home. My oldest turns 21 in 15 days and she owns her own home free and clear and graduated at 16 years old. She wanted to graduate sooner but I wouldn't allow it.

I want this to be me at 21!
Glad to hear the positives about homeschooling. So often 'outsiders' act like it is leprosy or something.
I am going over to checkout your son's page now!

Edited because I read the direct parent and now I understand that you were talking about my daughter not my son LOL

My bad!
Yes, your daughter that has her own house paid off and all! Very cool!

Start small then save and work your way up to something better. That is the key to any goal really.

That's a great idea! I love it! My son is also a gamer and 'YouTuber', but he is younger and lazy and he got a bit bored about making videos. So, no chance of having him on Steemit. I did check out your sons blog and maybe I can convince my little one to give some feedback as he knows these games! Good luck!

My son isn't motivated by money but your son might be, so show him a few of my son's post, his 3rd one netted him $30 or so

An exciting post
Your post make me thinking @tecnosgirl
I like your post

Nice to meet mom and son here . He will get his project successful sure . best of luck :)

My husband posts here too @azizbd he is @tecnoblast though he doesn't post very often because of his work schedule.

Great idea mom!!

Only the blockchain would allow you to assign your son homework that actually pays him. Brilliant idea, @tecnosgirl.
My home is lived in too, lol love that comment. I respect that it is genuine, as do many others.

I noticed all the crap beside the computer and was kind of embarrassed by it for a second then was like wait we live here, school here and work here so screw it. lol

I'm always telling guests to excuse the mess, and they tell me that my place looks great to them. However, there are those times when I have to choose my battles, and being a domestic goddess often falls by the wayside -- especially, when I have a lot of things going on Online while still trying to keep up with a whole bunch of people in real life.

Congratulations @tecnosgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just wanted to let you know that I've made another post and that you and your son got plugged in it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ainsleyjo1952/busy-bee-me-part-one-taking-out-a-moment-from-my-current-busy-ness

As I indicated in this piece, I have the best-laid-plans of showing up more around here from now on.

Hoping to be back here in a couple of hours to post again -- laying that post between when I finish my morning online business and my afternoon real-life business.

Sometime tonight, I'm going to be checking out the amazing @ultrawing . I know that I'll love what I see. ttyl

You might be a little lost as his post are about video games but he did a pretty good job with them.

My video games experiences are along the lines of PacMan, MsPacMan, Space Invaders, Bubble Popp, and so on and so forth, but I'll probably get something out of his articles and learn something new. I read his introduction post yesterday and meant to get back here again to write some more , but I was worn out after finishing Lisa's story. Have a sore throat, too. Will be writing the second part of my story in a little bit...

I had my boys using and posting on tsu before it shut down. Good luck with the home schooling. My youngest is just starting to get help with his differences. I don't think we could possibly consider home schooling tho. :)

@aeryn you can always POSSIBLY consider it! ;-D
Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64