School and fun on the run

in #homeschool7 years ago

I like to say we're homeschooling, but truth is we're mostly unschooling. Learning while going about our normal lives. Learning on the go. Today has been one of those day. While to the untrained eye it might seem like we've wasted a couple of hours at the mall, we've been doing reading, maths, economics and personal finance.

First stop – the bookstore.

mall8.jpg
The little one seems to be enjoying the newly-discovered Humphrey series, so mommy wants to make sure he has the second book waiting when he is done with the first one. He's reading it on his own so I have no idea if it's good or bad, but it might just be the kind of book I've been looking for. A real book, a big kid book, with almost no pictures in it, which would pave the way to reading other stuff than the endless 'Wimpy kid' type. Those were fun and served their purpose, but there are so many books out there waiting to be read. (Fingers crossed!)
Actually, I remember reading an article that raised this issue. Many children, like 5-8 graders, are reluctant to let go of the comic-book format they've been used to, as it required little effort.
mall.jpg

Highway robbery

While browsing through the bookstore, the kid inevitably wanders off to the toy section and comes back with some Minecraft key-ring. Some small thingy, he was sure mommy won't object to. But mommy knows this is a fancy bookstore selling a lot of overpriced stuff.
Poor child was aghast to discover the bloody key-ring costs way more than the book.
'Probably they put such a price on it, because they're selling it to kids and kids don't check'
'No, honey, because kids don't have money. Parents do. But kids have big mouths that can start wailing and big eyes that can well up with tears, so parents cannot resist and pay for the stupid toy'.

Off to the supermarket

Where we continued our lesson in economics and financial responsibility.
There's cheap cute toys
mall5.jpg

And quite expensive toys (that' like $100)
mall6.jpg
Spending a lot of time online, my little one likes to figure out how much everything is in dollars or euros. He has no problem whatsoever doing multiplications or divisions in his head if it comes to money, whereas when we sit down to do some math on Khan Academy there's an audible sigh whenever such operations are required.
By the way, can anyone explain why are kids required to learn rounding up numbers. I mean, if something is $5.25 you don't hear the cashier: “Oh, let's round it up to $5!”
The kid did not ask for any toy, not even the blue teddy mommy was ready to put in her cart (we have a thing with teddy-bears, but that's another story.)

Mommy sets a good example (sort of)

Now it's mommy's turn to give a lesson in financial responsibility. The kid doesn't know the difference between the various bottles, but he can check prices.
So, rather than spend money on whiskey
mall4.jpg

Mommy decides to settle for a bottle of French wine (and some French cheese to go with it)
mall3.jpg
(Off-topic – how comes you never see those 'Buy 3, pay2' signs on hard-liquor shelves?)

Shopping done, we end up in the food court, where the little boy gets his reward for being so patient.
mall2.jpg

I almost forgot – the unexpected lesson in physics. Did you know it is almost impossible to go up to the first floor using the escalators that are coming down? We tried that today... very embarrassing experience!
mall7.jpg

(The little boy wishes you all the best, because as long as mommy is busy on Steemit she won't be bothering him with absurd ideas like 'let's do some math'!)

Fun fact – while writing this, the OpenOffice editor kept bothering me whether I'd like to replace the word 'unschooling' with 'schooling'. Thanks, but no, thanks!

Thanks for reading

rebecca-516397.gif

Sort:  

Awesome. I have found that cooking and money are the best ways to learn math. We've done mostly unschooling and also a Sudbury school for several years. When my son decided for some strange reason to go to school in 8th grade, I decided to let him. They were of course very disgusted with me and my educational theories and insisted on putting him in 7th grade because he was reading and writing on a college level but a little behind in math. I told them he'd catch up fast, but what do I know? In a week he was caught up and in honors classes. His teachers were all very sad when we moved. They learn so much more than we realize just living life.

Unfortunately, there are no Sudbury schools where I live. From what I've read I'm sure my son would have loved such a school!

It was so wonderful. My kids loved it so much. It was so much to keep it going though. It was such an uphill battle to get new kids in. It goes so much against most people's education ideals. I was putting in so many hours for no money. I finally just couldn't, and I also decided to move to Belize. I hated to let it go, and I'm sad my younger kids won't get to experience it, but I needed to move on for my own sanity!

What a fun day! Sounds like you are doing the right kind of parenting :) Kudos to you !!

Thanks! It was fun... although I'm still sorry we didn't get the teddy-bear!

My son is just the same with maths and money (or any practical use of maths). Really on it and quick in his head. Not so fussed for an exercise on paper.

Mine hates using paper and pen too. So we mostly do math online...

I recently started homeschooling my son and I'd like to learn from other parents doing the same thing. Upvoted and following.

There are many homeschoolers around here so I'm sure you'll find a lot of inspiration.

I'm a former homeschooler/unschooler too. Loved this post. Great choices and it looks like your kids are getting a fantastic education! :)

The most important thing to me is they are free of constraints. Thanks for stopping by.

Great post! Very nice. Thank you for sharing.

Nice to meet you, @ladyrebecca!
@OriginalWorks will check the originality of tis post and upvote accordingly. Upvote this comment and I may upvote your post as well!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ladyrebecca to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65