Helping Out our Homeless Bros, aka "HoBros", Using Advanced Materials Technology!

in #homeless8 years ago (edited)

This man is not simply cosplaying a baked potato, as we are all wont to do from time to time. Well, he might be, but that isn't what this article is about. Like many of you, when I first started to make good money at this, my first thought was "I want other people to benefit from this too."

Of course I worked for that money, but as I've written for years with no recompense whatsoever it felt like free money raining from the sky. I didn't feel deserving of it and still don't, but so long as it keeps coming I can splash some of it around to people who need help more than I do.

So, I ordered some mylar bivy sacks and Sawyer Mini water filters. I deliberated over whether to tell anybody about it. Is it really charity if you tell people? But then, who cares why people help so long as they get off their asses and do it?

Besides which, plenty want to help but don't know how to do it in a way that won't be misused. What can you give a homeless person that they won't simply sell? What is simultaneously useful enough to them that they will keep it but cheap enough that it's no big loss if they don't?

Mylar is the most efficient thermal insulator known to man. Resembling thinner, more flexible aluminum foil, it reflects infrared radiation specifically. That is to say, heat. So if you wrap yourself up in this, it will trap the waste heat your body normally radiates out into the environment, using it to warm you. To call it "space age" is no exaggeration. Ever seen that crinkly metallic foil lookin' stuff around the base of the Apollo lunar lander?

Yup, mylar. In that case used to insulate fuel tanks and electronics. So, why a bivy sack? What even is a bivy sack? It's like a sleeping bag, but made out of mylar and typically intended to be a liner for a proper sleeping bag of the sort you've used in the past. However by itself it does a disproportionately good job of keeping you warm for its mass. These can be had for as little as $6 online, making them a no-worry giveaway that will do a lot of good for not a lot of money.

It's not all sunshine and lollipops. It gets sweaty in there. You can buy a breathable one that lets air escape but not heat. That will increase the cost per bag by a factor of ten however. The other thing is it takes about 30 minutes to warm up as much as it's going to.

If you let the warm air escape, like getting out to pee or something, you have to wait for another thirty minutes to get warm again. But these are small prices to pay to keep from losing your fingers and toes to frostbite during a nasty winter. Not much use currently as it's Summer and sweltering out, but it will be cold again soon enough.

So shelter is covered. What about clean drinking water? Many hobros live out in the woods. Their water comes from creeks and streams. That's a good way to get sick! Luckily, materials technology has furnished us with a cheap, lightweight and compact solution.

This is the Sawyer Mini. I fucking love this thing. It differs from other filters I've seen in that it doesn't require replaceable filter cartridges. Like the Lifestraw, it's backwashable, meaning to clean it out you just send water through in the other direction. Unlike the Lifestraw, you can do this with it:

Now hobros can take water with them instead of having to find a stream every time they're thirsty, vastly less of a life-interrupting hassle for somebody busy figuring out how they're going to eat today.

It does eventually wear out after 100,000 gallons, but that's a considerable lifespan and spares someone with no disposable income the problem of how to get new filter cartridges. But how does it work?

Sawyer filters utilize hollow fiber membrane technology, originally developed for filtering blood in kidney dialysis machines. To stand in for your liver, such a machine must be able to remove bacteria and other bloodborn contaminants extremely thoroughly. The only things this filter won't remove are viruses and heavy metals, though Sawyer has a 2.0 model on the way which will be capable of that.

None of this obligates you to spend your money this way. I am not a fan of guilt as a motivating mechanism, it's pathological. I want to reach people whose natural reaction when their life is good is "how can other people have this too?" It is the feeling of eating something delicious and wanting to share it, which increases your own enjoyment rather than taking away.

A mylar bag and a water filter won't make a huge difference, but it's something. Doing something for somebody used to people doing nothing to help means everything. This is affordable, easy, and obviates most of the concerns associated with helping the needy.

They can't sell it for much and get more immediate use out of it improving their own comfort and safety, and so are unlikely to sell it for drugs or booze. It doesn't cost you much, so you can justify the expense and helping out a little bit won't break the bank.

So if you've been looking for something to tote around in the car that is of immediate use to a homeless person, I hope these ideas are helpful. Anybody who makes most of their money here off minnow votes knows from direct experience that a lot of little helping hands can do the same work as one big one.

Sort:  

I'm homeless Alex, I live in my car.

The reason I live in my car is because banks are pumping huge amounts of low interest debt into the housing sector and the manufacturing sector has been outsourced to China, destroying the labour market.

If you try to wrap me in tinfoil, I'll kick you in the nuts so hard you'll see your unborn children.

Cheers,

Business

I was homeless for a while and I'm almost offended by this blog, a reuseable straw and tin foil blankets? Most homeless people are fully capable of hustling up water and warmth.

I'm not interested in prolonging my suffering, if you want to make a difference, don't just vote, get involved in your local politics and demand sustainable and affordable housing.

At least I have a car? Lucky you. If I didn't, I wouldn't be going down without a fight. Jails are more comfortable than the sidewalk.

I appreciate your empathy, but I'm telling you it's misdirected. We know how to survive Alex, we are powerless to move forward from that situation.

That's where we need help. We're not looking for handouts, we're looking for opportunity.

"What can you give a homeless person that they won't simply sell?" - Respect.

I hear you and am thankful to be corrected. I saw this article and thought it was a good idea, but I suppose I shouldn't believe everything I read on the internet.

there you go,.....

i've been homeless but not hypothermic with giardia though i'm sure people die of such things every year. it's cold sleeping on top of a parking garage, and fresh water is no joke. i'm not offended.

It isn't a straw. A straw won't clean water. Blankets and sleeping bags can also get soaked in water. Mylar is also not the same as tinfoil, they only superficially appear similar.

I don't mean any offense. My intentions are good and I am receptive to any ideas you might have for how to help more effectively.

I say anything helps ... and when people come to help maybe let them know what you really need cause alot of people do want to help but dont know or understand how..

:/ I'm not looking to come at you with tin foil dude. I understand these are only bandages on the gushing wound that is the current economic paradigm. But as an individual I can't do anything to change that besides vote, which I already do.

You have a car. Lucky you, at least by comparison with the homeless people who don't have the benefit of such a sturdy, well insulated shelter. Think about how much worse your health would be due to exposure if you had to sleep outdoors during every season, winter included.

don't fret over this guy. If I was poor I'd love to be given mylar. But than that's probably why I am not poor. I keep a couple 4$ mylar blankets and poncho's stashed in all my vehicles and buildings in case of a power outage or a blizzard or whatever. May I suggest a small book that helps the reader to identify edible and poisonous plants in your local area. Can hobo's read? maybe it could just use pictures and symbols. I once found a multitool at a pawnshop for 5$. it wasn't a Leatherman but its sturdy enough, just had to give the knife in it a sharpening. I wonder about making medical charcoal. the store bought kiln activated fine ground palmtree stuff is pretty expensive but they say you can make your own pretty cheap with just firewood.

there you go, this guy alex is an idiot

A real good deed done there , Kudos to you , See you in heaven!

Probably not, but it's enough to make this life a little less miserable for people worse off than I am, of which there are plenty.

Well there are people who just ignore the homeless and I think what you did was really kind

Your a rockstar @alexbeyman, Its sad to see this article didnt gather the normal attention your stuff receives, and its always great to post your chairity if you have genius ideas like these to share.

I recommended bernie upvote you, hope he does.

Dude you are a wonderful human being! I honestly believe you deserve the monetary resources you have gained on this platform. Your stories and articles are great. I hope you continue to do well and continue to help those in need when possible=)

No I'm not. Two persons with experience being homeless in this thread have told me that my efforts are meaningless and of no use to them. It would seem that I have a lot to learn.

I think the fact that you listened, means absolutely you are a good person.

I just think you have to realise, there's no real difference between you and I. If you were in my situation, I have no doubt you'd have the resourcefulness strength and ability to survive.

What you'd be most hungry for is opportunity.

Also pizza, pizza's good.

I don't really care whether you think I'm a good person. That's the emotional reward that slacktivists look for by virtue signaling. I want to learn how to alleviate immediate suffering more effectively.

I don't have any hope for making changes by getting more involved in politics. Maybe that's my error? But the Utah solution can be implemented near-term and on a city by city basis, I have a lot more hope for that.

The opportunity I try to spread is to teach people what Steemit is and how to use it effectively in a couple minutes. What sort of things to post, what tags to use, what introduceyourself is, etc.

The main problem I have encountered so far is the language barrier. Even those who speak a little bit of English often don't speak enough to understand complex instructions. I'll think on this though, and devise a solution. Printed cards maybe? I would need help translating them though, into Spanish mainly.

You are heads an shoulders above many if most of us. If ONLY for expressing this concern. I feel less of a man for NOT doing so.
You have my respect. For whatever that's worth.

I think small comforts and compassion go a long way for someone who is suffering. My family was poor as shit when I was a kid and while we had a roof over our heads there would have been many times we would have gone hungry if it were not for the kindness of others, many times we would have gone cold if others were not so kind as to contribute to the bill. Should they have demanded affordable food and heat from the local government instead of supplying the immediate need? Could they be capable of doing those two things simultaneously? Things do not happen overnight.

People do not get to dictate how we show our kindness. We do. If individuals are "offended" with how people show their compassion then they can reject it.

I appreciate you coming to my defense. He did make an important point though. He can dictate how I show my kindness if he wants, maybe I can be more effective at it using his suggestions.

I think communication and learning from new information in order to find increasingly effective ways to help is indeed a good quality. I sincerely believe you want to help others. You are a wonderful human being in my eyes.

Wonderful insights. We've helped out some area homeless in the past by giving away old tents and blankets. The Mylar blanket idea sounds great, and I especially love the water purification method you shared. Will look into this before winter hits. Great ways to help.

Those are great ideas for everyone to have in an emergency.

I love you and I love what you're doing, its why I'm saying, I love you!
But one possible correction...
As a child I was told the Apollo foil was gold foil.
Probably no more than 3 or 4 troy ounces of gold used on the L.E.M.
I was told that one oz of gold can be hammered down to 1/8mm foil, covering something like 20ft x 20ft.
Not sure if that was maybe prototype Mylar manufactured WITH gold instead of silver... maybe it was...
Makes me wonder now, why did I comment?
:^D

Oh! I was told on a tour of Kennedy Space Center that it's gold coated mylar, but then again the tour guide may have just been winging it.

Im not sure how accurate this is either, but I heard with those straws you can actually drink your own urine. Maybe I was told that just to see if I'd do it. Not sure>
But I do know the "Big Burkee" water filter comes with those straws for camping trips, and the ceramic filters are the best ever invented. Only better thing would be distilling water, and you can use the sun to do that as well if you have a clear plastic bag.

You're not Superman because no one can be, but you're doing a great job, man. Even giving a shit in the first place is a good thing, and you're putting action behind it. Don't feel bad because you can't save everyone. Keep doing what you're doing, man.

I live in New York and I don't understand why homeless people don't go somewhere warmer and more hospitable like California. Seems like the place to be if you're a hobo!

I think it is very kind and thoughtful of you. The effort and kindness you put into this is admirable! Keep up the good work and don't let others opinions dissuade you from any noble actions you feel compelled to undertake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31