Homelab Reiteration Pt. 4

in #homelab7 years ago

My personal desktop has balanced between needing more RAM and cutting down on storage space. After long quiet hours of contemplation, I clicked on to Newegg, got out my KeepKey, and placed an order for a 1TB Western Digital hard drive. 6MB cache, 7200RPM. Pretty basic drive, but it will allow me to do much more.

It arrived and I could not contain my excitement. After a little bit of confusion, jerry rigging, zip ties and scavenging for SATA data cables, I finally got it installed. I say finally like it was some epic quest, but it only felt that way. In reality it was probably 15 minutes long.

Now my personal desktop has a whopping 2+ terabytes, which is more than I've ever had in any one machine. I don't have to worry about virtual machines hogging up space, or having to clear unused documentation, and I have to tell you. Damn it feels good.

Feedback: how much RAM do you think is normal for a home computer? What about a gaming computer? Or should I just go straight server grade?

Thanks for reading! Please upvote and Resteem if you'd like to help improve my homelab. Be sure to follow so you don't miss an update.

My previous homelab article:

https://steemit.com/homelab/@tfj/troubleshooting-linux-ssh-connectivity

Sort:  

Depends on your usage, really. For a gaming PC 16 GB should be enough for now.

My exact thoughts. Sadly I'm capped at 8GB for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42