You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cleanliness is Next to Godliness

in #home5 years ago

I gotta think about my girlfriend who feels the same way you do. When she was visiting from the States two years ago, she drove her hand over my picture frames and had dusty fingers. She made a quiet "ts ts ts ts" and I knew that my apartment didn't stand up to her eyes. I used to feel like a little child and would have resented her. Today I know that she doesn't come out of her skin, but basically feels comfortable with me, because it's not her four walls and the filthy corners of mine don't harm our time together.

I also love to walk on the floor with clean socks just like you and enjoy the beautiful pure smell that a cleaned home has to offer. I am also with you when I am angry that I clean up the dirt here and have a standard that my son will not have for a long time yet.

Yes, there is indeed something spiritual about cleaning. To experience this daily routine as an act with and on oneself is so much better than to grieve and be bored, that the plates and the clothes and the furniture are always waiting for a new cleaning. These things that have to be done, that are work and sweat, perhaps they are like the harvest that had to be reaped at all times and if you didn't, you had nothing to eat.

If I imagine that there is nothing left to tidy up, throw away, wipe and put away, it would be like living in a catalogue that offers "beautiful living". How bored, exalted living room ladies with painted lips and waxy faces, wrinkleless and flawless we would then sit in this environment that radiated lifelessness in eternal perfection.

I don't like to visit people where one is afraid to touch a thing as it lacks coziness and the warm feeling of entering a non perfect home. I feel like a troublemaker in a still life.

I do like visit clean homes where I don't have to be afraid that a disgusting insect will run over my feet and something sticky will catch on me.
:)

I like how you created this text and the duality in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94