You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Round 2 entry - Laura Lemons art tribute contest - Hope.

in #holoz0rlltaa17 years ago

Yes. Steem is like having savings account that pays you daily interest that you can't just dip into.

I don't even care about bitcoin gold. Sure, I'll take the free coin but I kinda hope it tanks so future forkers think twice about it.

Sort:  

I think a lot of people overlearned their lesson when they got/heard about all that 'free' bitcoin cash after the last fork; now they're mooning btc, hoping to get another stab.
I was always a bitcoin maximalist, but it's getting a little silly. Moving that 5 btc in took 15 hours, while Steem blocks are generated every 3 seconds.
I thought btc would be the hub between fiat and crypto.
The US dollar of the crypto world. Now I'm not so sure. People keep building tools to buy/sell alts directly. Kinda makes bitcoin look like a dinosaur.
(I feel like such an apostate saying that)

Yeah I don't really see the point of bitcoin gold. Why not just use one of the other blockchains that does the same thing? Makes little sense to me. Where is the demand going to come from?

Hey, I'm a big BTC fan too, it makes up the largest share of my crypto portfolio. I like that it's been around the longest and seems to survive and prosper despite whatever gets chucked at it. It's a proven product (so far) and none of the other coins have the same level of experience (if that's the right way to say it).

But yes 15 hours does seem long. However, if we fast forward a few years, will other coins face similar real world scaling issues? I don't know.

I know Dan Larimer, co-creator of steem/steemit, is working toward a 0.5 second block. Steemit runs on a 3 second block; and bitcoin is roughly 10 minutes.
I always assumed that bitcoin would.
A: Harness superior hashing power to destroy any threatening alts
B: Incorporate any new, exciting code/ideas into itself, retaining it's network effect and nullifying any first mover advantage the altcoin had.
DPOS stops bitcoin miners from launching a 51% attack, and the btc devs don't seem to agree on anything, so superior code is unlikely to make it past the gatekeepers.
That's my main two reasons for keeping btc front and centre, both dead in the water.
Certainly something to think about. (I also currently hold a reasonable amount of btc, but I know we're not deciding the truth here, merely trying to discern it)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44