Holodomor, The Ukrainian Genocide by Starvation

in #holodomor7 years ago (edited)

Although I am half Ukrainian, I had limited exposure to the culture and history after my mother passed away when I was two years old and I moved from Alberta to a small town in Eastern Canada at the age of four. It was not until I met a journalist in my late forties who inquired about my origins did he inform me of the Holodomor, the starvation genocide of 7-10 million Ukrainians of these 3 million were children in 1932-33

Many nations now recognize the Holodomor with a Memorial Day on the fourth Saturday of Novembre. I am grateful my grandparents had immigrated to Canada before the genocide. I nonetheless am deeply moved by the stories of victims. The son of a survivor once told me how his father's family managed to survive by hiding potatoes in the ground below the path to his house, and a scene​ too horrific for me to write that his father witnessed after his mother told him to go bring some potato​ peelings to the neighbours whose infant was doing poorly due to starvation.

Only a leader void of conscience​, a psychopath, could order such horrific acts, the forced removal of all harvests and grains from the Ukrainian people, the punishments (death or 10 year imprisonment​) for hiding any morsels in an attempt to survive in the "breadbasket​ of Europe", and the abundant exportation of these grains while citizens were dying at a rate of 25,000 a day at the height of the genocide! Too many psychopaths​ throughout history, including recent history, get into positions of power and wreak havoc on our societies and institutions.

Saturday is #Holodomor Memorial Day. Learn, share and reflect...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=waOrFAokoY0

Sort:  

Excellent article \ Чудова стаття.

Thank you. I hope I can contribute to increase awareness 🙏

Congratulations @denisedube! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @denisedube! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68