You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The "truth" about Hollywood's pro-government, pro-war propaganda

in #hollywood7 years ago

Great take. As someone who has been in the industry for over a decade and attended every film festival around the World - most times the content we were acquiring and selling around the World was to make a buck. We (especially during the DVD age) were slapping lipstick on a pig. And one of the MAIN reasons I left was this ridiculous dogma that persists.

One show you missed (and I only watch it because I am a huge comic book nerd and have 2K+ comic books in my Dad's basement) is the Punisher (on Netflix) which exemplified the nefarious ways of the CIA. A "win at all costs" scenario for our country.

I think overall that people who come here have their hearts in the right place. I know as a young man from Chicago with my business partner starting Olive Branch Productions - we certainly did. But the entrenched institutions and after-all it being show BUSINESS meant that important stories weren't marketed nor even mentioned to the general public.

Positively though, I believe we are back to an age where content is King. And hopefully the content most people want to consume is for the betterment of society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70