The Accidental HODL'er

in #hodl7 years ago

I've seen the word "HODL" around the cryptoverse lately and thought it probably had something to do with holding on to your coins and riding out the ups and downs and letting them grow in maturity and value. It turns out, I did this without really knowing what I was doing.

I started testing the waters of Crypto several months ago. I saw some Craig Grant videos on YouTube, got myself on Steemit and BurstNation, bought a little bit of Bitcoin, played around with a couple of faucets for a while. Got a new phone and didn't take the time to move stuff over to my new phone.

Life happened, as it tends to do and I just let all my coins (few though they were) sit. I don't remember the exact amount I "invested," but I can pretty much guarantee it was no more than $50 USD. I remember finding it a little cumbersome to buy bitcoin in the first place, then get it onto the exchange...then I wasn't really sure what to do from there. A lot of the videos I watched were chock full of jargon. I felt like I was trying to learn Russian and got frustrated.

I did follow Craig's lead and buy a little bit of hashpower on Genesis. Forgot I needed to add my wallet. When I started peeking into crypto file cabinets again, I added my wallet to Genesis and received payout greater than my initial investment that had been accumulating. Sweet!

It's pretty exciting to see what HODLing can do!

Now I want to take another stab at learning all I can about the cryptoverse.

Shout out to these posts for teaching me the name of what I didn't know I was doing:
https://steemit.com/hodl/@thewolfofcrypto/what-does-hodl-mean-where-did-it-originate

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@alexrickard86/hodl-what-does-it-mean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57