HOBL, Crags, BlockPress.

in #hodl6 years ago (edited)

DSCF0856.resized.JPG

HOBL in the CRAG

You've probably heard of the term HODL, but let me introduce you to the term HOBL. Whilst it looks like HODL, it does not follow the same rule and derive from a typo of 'Holb'. Instead it is a humorous shortening of the word 'hobble' (To walk lame, or unevenly). Well whilst over the last few months crypto prices seem to HOBL, we all HODL and the charts resemble rocky crags, I have been recovering from a knee injury. This means that I have been HOBLing around lately.

For a few months I couldn't get very far, even with my crutches. I could reach the bus stop to get to the hospital. But I looked longingly at the forest that sits on the rocky crag that overlooks our house, Craig Phadrig. Usually, @dana-varahi and I go for walks in the forest most weeks. If we can't afford to travel anywhere, we can at least walk out of our bungalow and be in the forest within five minutes.

On Saturday and Sunday I managed to hobble into the forest for the first time in a couple of months! You can see how happy this made me! Still on crutches, and couldn't do it without them. It was a big relief to be able to return to the trees.

BlockPress HOBLs on

Before my injury I was in good flow with updates to BlockPress. This stalled for over a month as I rested, but work has resumed and I am HOBLing on with the feature to display comments under a post, an essential feature for a proper blog website.

We are also starting to think about how we will start promoting BlockPress once the beta is ready. Will we need a partner good at marketing? Will we outsource some design? Do we need a couple of guinea pigs to volunteer for example blog websites? We aren't sure yet, but these are some of the things we are considering. Maybe a contest or two. Best theme? Best colour palette? Not sure, just speculating and throwing the idea out there.

Dana has also resumed work on BlockPress, and has now implemented a total of four 'palettes' that all work across two different layout themes. More themes will be made palette compatible. We are also thinking of renaming the themes using a fun naming convention.

We have also been playing around with some sketches for the BlockPress logo. So keep watching us for news on that development. We might reveal it first here, but we might reveal it first in the BlockPress facebook group or the BlockPress subreddit. So watch all our channels to keep updated.

International relocation

We are also currently raising funds for an international relocation. It is our intention to keep blogging about this because:

  • We expect steemit posting rewards to form a significant proportion of the total funds raised.
  • We feel our story should be heard.
  • I think our personal story is actually interesting and many will find it interesting and useful to read. Maybe it will help some others find thier own voice.

With this in mind, Dana's latest blog, Why I left my home country, goes some way to explaining a good part of the situation we are in. They have already left one country behind for political reasons, so this is a second occurrance for them. For me the nearest I have experienced is our move from England to Scotland, but Scotland is not a fully independent nation (yet), and English is still the most common language here. Our next move will involve us both learning a new language.

We still have several months left to raise the money, but so far we have raised £2220 of our £10000 total. I know that to some it may seem like we are asking a lot. But we have always been generous in donating to our friends in need, our friends campaigns, and causes we feel worthwhile. Even now neither of us engages in self-voting so we have move voting power to alocate to others posts and comments. And once we are back on our feet we will contribute to worthwhile causes and friends again, probably with a renewed sense of appreciation and generosity. My next blog on the subject plans to explore some of the causes we have helped in the past.

More pics from my HOBL in the CRAG...

Pics of me by @dana-varahi, pics of Dana by me, landscape photo by Dana.
DSCF0860.resized.JPG

DSCF0864.resized.JPG

DSCF0868.resized.JPG

DSCF0874.resized.JPG

Sort:  

wish you goodluck and good healths in life

Thank you! I've just come out of hospital from a scan of the injury. Fingers crossed.

Minor correction: In the sentence

Instead it is a humourous shortening of the word '[hobble](https://en.
it should be humorous instead of humourous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84