You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Hobby - Growing Mushrooms

in #hobbyhub7 years ago

awesome @fabulousfungi. Looks like you are a master at growing mushrooms.

So far I've gotten as far as getting a super growth of the mycellium from a small container of brown mushrooms. They were on sale at a local store because they were getting 'mold like' growth on them.

I cut the mushrooms up in pieces and layered them between strips of cardboard that I soaked in boiling water and they 'sprouted'. I left them too long and they tiny mushroom shoots died back but the cardboard turned to compost like some small organisms ate it and converted it to fine moist earth.

this winter I am going to try again and see if I can't get to the next stage and actually grow some mushrooms.

Sort:  

If the mycelium was brown, they were most likely Shiitakes (Lentinula edodes).
Shiitakes are a bit difficult to grow. The easiest option for beginners, it's Oysters.
And I'm no master at all, I have figured out how to grow Oysters, and I'm planning on trying other species.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me and I'll do my best.

Shit-akes 😂😂😂😂

good to know and I appreciate the offer. I'll be looking for more mushrooms to try the first stage again this fall. I purchased a bag of mushroom compost cause I saw on YouTube that it makes a good growing medium to go from the first stage to the second 'grow mushrooms' stage.

Sounds like you're quite resourceful.

thanks @simivalleyjeff53. yes, I like to experiment and explore and try and find ways to get things to work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49