Hobby Hub Challenge #4 - The Power of Music

in #hobbyhub7 years ago (edited)

20171116_065912.jpg

Music is the hobby that is currently filling my spare time. In my youth, I aspired to be a concert pianist, but now I am content to just have fun with music. I am actually rather grateful my "dream" did not pan out. I suspect had I followed that path, I would still be playing nothing but classical piano. I love piano, but I also play guitar now, and I write songs and I sing with our local choir. I would probably have had my love of music crushed by making it a job.

My current project is the Christmas program we put on once a year. We begin practice the week after Labor Day, in September. It seems a little odd to sing about dashing through the snow in your flip flops and shorts, but the dedicated people of this group show up, year after year. We are now about 2 weeks from our show. This year I made "cheat" videos for each part, like this one:

They are not really fun to listen to, that is just an example. It was quite an eye-opener for me These simple single note lines of harmony appeared to my brain as nothing, nothing at all. Then when I sat to get after the task, I realized I could hardly read music any more. I play things from memory these days, or I go by the chords. Quite a lucky break to volunteer for this before I totally lost that skill!

I still enjoy playing classical music, I have played a little snippet of Beethoven in a previous post.
https://steemit.com/untalented/@fishyculture/who-am-i-steemit-untalented-surpassinggoogle-submission-admission

I still own my guitar, but honestly I have not picked it up in months. I have a bad wrist, and the guitar just aggravates it terribly. Here is a number I wrote several years ago. It is interesting, youtube shows 9 views. This was featured on Max Keiser's program, it had hundreds and hundreds of views a few years ago. I guess people have been unwatching it since then? Fair warning, I was much less bashful in those days, so you may wish you could unwatch this too...

That is sort of my "thing" now. I like to write silly songs that tell the truth and make people laugh. Being a truther is sort of my "job" these days and it is quite thankless... but if I make it rhyme and put a simple tune behind it people seem to be able to hear me better.

Steemit is something of a hobby these days, and I am finding my "recipe" for melding these two. I entered @papapepper's "Wild N Strange" contest and wrote the winning lyrics! Perhaps the most delightful thing that has ever happened to me as a "song writer" was to watch what someone else did with MY lyrics:

https://steemit.com/wildnstrange/@chrisroberts/the-three-steem-amigos-an-song-created-by-wild-and-strange-steemians-for-wild-and-strange-steemians

Music has been a rock for me, I can play by myself and let my soul pour out all its emotion without having to say a word. I can get together with friends and we can make beautiful music together. Or off key music, depending on the friends... lol! It is all "joyful noise" and good by me! In our little town, ripped apart by tragedy and injustice (google Jack Yantis), we all came together for the local music festival this summer and we danced the night away. The rift is still deep, may never mend, but at least we have taken a step toward being the close-knit community we once were.

And Christmas is coming... and a dedicated group of local singers are doing our best to keep that healing trend going. Here is a video (courtesy of the choir director, who "owns" the video but allows free use of it) of our choir last year:


The other videos and picture are my original work.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your awesome entry into the HobbyHub challenge! I love that you shared videos with us, it makes me feel like I know you :) You certainly are talented! Had a good chuckle at your "Silver Vigilante"! Good luck!

Thank you! These contests are really fun for me. I just don't like those chat rooms, so I am not really "networking" like I ought to on this site, but at least the contests get me to "get involved." Glad you enjoyed my silliness!

great one this is!!! Makes me just a little more wish there would not be this ocean... hehe... don't know what would happen if the two of us would take the guitars, pianos, lyrics and voices...hehe

Thanks! And wouldn't it be fun? Lets set a "goal" to meet at say, Steemfest 2020? If we can't make it, well, we can't... but we can try!

The goal is sat then! ;-) Thing is that I avoid masses where- and whenever I can....sounds familiar?

LOL! Oh, yeah! We will have to pick a nearby location for a mini steemfest perhaps...

and bring the guitars, hehe

Music is a great hobby @fishyculture ! Thanks for sharing the videos ! Good luck 👍👍👍

Classical music has its place, but everyone likes "silly songs that tell the truth and make people laugh." And if that means you can be featured on the Keiser Report, then I'd say you've been successful.

After hearing "Silver Vigilante," I wondered if you had ever heard Paul Thorn. If not, check this out...

If you like this one, also give a listen to his "Honky Tonk Neanderthal." Very funny.

LOL! That was fun, thank you so much! I have said for years that I try hard to love all people, and my success often depends upon how far away I can be when I try to love them!

Yes, how does that old saying go?

"Absence makes the heart grow fonder, and presence repels it." ... or something like that. :-)

LOL! Had not heard that one. Following you in hopes of picking up more pearls of wisdom! Have a great day!

Actually, I just made it up ... cuz it's true!
Following you, too. Onwards!

I sit in awe of your accomplishment @fishyculture not having a musical talent at all.

Came to congratulate you on Hobby Hub Challenge with @sweetpea and @karenmckersie no wonder, you have great hidden talent, enjoy it.

Thank you for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37