Should I Stay Or Should I Go Now?

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART--306603763.jpg

Hey what's up with you, Pikachu?

The Good Lady asked as she bustled into the lounge and saw me sitting at my laptop with a face that looked as if I had been eating the jellied eels again.

psss wsss weoooo...

I said in a tiny whisper.

What?! What are you mumbling about? Speak up for god's sake?!

The Good Lady said in a stern voice she usually saved for the hokey-pokey.

Steemit is forking on Friday, the new fork is called Hive and lots of people are all going to move over there.

I said miserably.

Hive? What? like our central heating?

She barked whilst fixing me with a narrowed left eye.

No, not the central heating, Steemit! It is moving to another platform called Hive!

I yelled a little belligerently.

Steemit? Moving to a different platform? Like, who gives a fuck? There's real shit going on in the world.

The Good Lady made a smumfing face and cocked a hand on her hip exasperatedly. She had never been a fan of the Steemi.

Well, everyone is going there.

I said in a small voice.

So. You go there too then. Boom. Problem solved.

The Good Lady shook her head as if it were some washing straight from the machine.

But it's not solved. See everyone will follow the shouty folk to Hive and then they will post about Hive and how amazing it is and how there are glad that they are finally decentralised and...

Decentralised? Why would anyone care about that? I thought it was a blogging site?

The Good Lady interrupted.

Oh my god, sshhhh!!

I leapt from my chair and dragged the Good Lady down to the floor, frantically looking from side to side.

You can't say that. If they hear you say that they will kill you.

I whispered urgently in her ear.

The Good Lady shook me off and stood up dusting herself down.

For goodness sake, isn't all this just a tad dramatic? If you want to go to this busy beehive then go. If you don't then don't.

She made to leave but I reached up and grabbed her hand.

You don't understand. I write stories. Funny stories. And I drink beer. That's it. But all the new place will be about is how good the new place is and how shit Steemit is. It will be Hive this, Hive that and little more. I worry that there won't be room for actual content that real people want to read..?

I tugged at her hand as if that would make her understand.

She pulled it away.

I think you are making a mountain out of a molehill. As I said, stay or go. It is as simple as that.

She turned and walked to the kitchen.

But if I stay they will call me a Commie and a Traitor?

I whispered.

But she was already out of earshot.

I shook my head.

And don't even get me started on the amount of Cross posting that will be going on by people not wanting to actually miss out on magic internet money!


Get the buzz and come to Hive

Sort:  

On point as usual! Similar yard, new dogs in charge.

Hehe, someone has to say it!

Your little funny story is hitting the nail on the head in my view. My key thing is the content and recently the vast majority of the content has been boohoo Justin, hostile takeover content. There where the content will go is there where the majority of the people will end up. Exiting times ahead, we will see what will be the outcome..

It's all about that content. Without it we are just a massive echo chamber and will get smaller and smaller rill we disappear

So yes, exciting and hopefully fruitful times ahead!

!ENGAGE 50

Thanks for the engage tip @Meesterboom. Let's give power to content providers!!

You're welcome! It's what the whole game should be about!



@carapthian you have received 50 ENGAGE from @meesterboom!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I must admit- and I guess I must be shy about it - I have no idea what is going on - apparently I do not read enough or care enough about adults fighting over who knows what - so I guess I will stay until someone tells me what to do haaha. Have never understood anything about this whole steemit thing. I am with the good lady - there are way worse things that this.

Don't be shy. It really is a lot of twoddle and people shouting and throwing toys out of prams. But, hhopefully that will all come to a halt and people can just get back to doing what they do best.

On Friday though, there will be a lot of people using the new Hive which is a fork of Steemit, just like Weku and all that were.

so nothing totally new :OD

Yes heard about that - will check it out during the week. My life is a bit upside down with my husband passing away suddenly so all of this is just something happening on another planet - hopefully all will calm down again. Strange where money and people are involved, there is usually someone throwing a fit. Just another reason why I prefer animal above so many humans. And this coronavirus can also now just fuck off to say the least. Damn Chinese........

Oh my goodness. I'm so sorry to hear that. I know you must be going through quite the time. My heart goes out to you, lass. Bloody coronavirus on top if everything is just shit

Thank you - I am not someone who falls apart or sit in a dark room but I miss him and especially the evenings.... but he was at his happiest when I am happy so he would not like me falling apart... but it does suck big time at times. One day at a time....

It does suck. Sometimes it seems as if nothing will be the same again but inevitably it gets better. Then you get the mad moments. I was a mess yesterday cos it's mother's Day in the UK and all I could think about was my little mum. Ah... Sometimes life can be shite. But sometimes it can be magic. I suppose we just have to remember the magic times.

Sorry for rabbiting. :0)

Thanks - I was blessed with an angel and I guess they wanted him back, but at least I have wonderful memories and yes it will get better, or lets say more bearable.

The people will decide for you, for the most part. It is not black and white blood in the streets for the majority. Crossposting, in the beginning, is a sensible thing, it is "keeps going without skipping a beat". What will make things clearcut is the actions of justin and whether the dapps and interfaces and witnesses drop steemit completely instead of also "crossposting". If they do not choose then no users will choose, and we will just be disgruntled kids that need to remember not to speak good of steemit on hive and not to praise hive on steemit. I don't think to an average user anything would change other than noticing where they spend the most time as it all becomes the new norm. Basically "you do it your way then"

Yeah, I have still to define in my head where I want to be my home that I check in daily. I aint interested in a million shill or steem bashing posts. We will see we will see!

Also not sure what to do altho I haven't been posting AT ALL lately. Kinda bored of the whole thing....But I agree, new HIve posts will be as you say. Reminds me of when I started posts about gardening how-to and know-how back in May 2016!! Peeps accused me of cat-fishing (lol, I didn't even know what that meant...I really am an old dinosaur (according to people younger than 30 ;0)

Lol, I can see the landscape being very similar to back then only with less rewards for non Hive or Steem bashing posts.

I do hope I am wrong and its a glorious start. I am bored to death of the whole shouting thing

I know! If we were alive during the US goldrush times...I imagine this is like that was, except for the fact that one doesn't have to get off his/her arse and climb a mountain/ford streams and such. Virtual new frontier...

Virtual streams and mountains, thats what we will be bounding over!

Except we are all a bit too lazy :OD

Boom I am going to be doing so much copying, I am buying stock in Xerox 😂

Hahahah, the chains will be identical!!!

I see no reason to choose right off the bat.

this was never my fight.

My choices are still - Both, one or the other, or Neither.

Both sides had things they could have done better.

I agree. I don't intend to do the crosspost boogie either. Its a bit demeaning in the desperation for coin

Will see how it goes and choose the one thats best for content!

I write stories. Funny stories. And I drink beer. That's it.

It is.., I write about falling through floors to my death.. there's no hope.. none for either of us!

We are doomed!! Well, for the first couple of weeks at least.

Might pick up after that!

For goodness sake, isn't all this just a tad dramatic? If you want to go to this busy beehive then go. If you don't then don't.

Do you wear a mohawk or an afro anymore Mr. Boom? };)

Lol, mohawk all the way!! :OD

Good to know my friend. You will do pretty fine and quickly will excel on the HIVE blockchain! :)

I'm gonna jive with the hive!!!! :0D

Jive Jive Jive brother!! :D

Stayin alive with the hive hive jive!!

Did you just conflate steem and steemit? [raises daggers]

Nope can't look menacing when I'm too busy laughing at what a drama llama you are XD

I'm really, really hoping that people aren't dumb enough to rave about how awesome hive is looking for upvotes but I won't find out as I won't be looking at trending anyway and will be actively avoiding gush posts x_x

I never get the obsession with trending. Nobody on the outside cares about trending and yet internally it is obsessed about.

Lol, there will be a sea of those posts but I shall be lurking in the nethers being a drama llama :OD

And I did! I always do, I love saying steem for steemit and vice versa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51