The pinnacle of sports | Test cricket

in Cric-World 🏏3 years ago (edited)


www.cricket.com.au

If you like arts, the art of ground sports is without a doubt, is test cricket. Why I say, to create good piece of art it takes time, it takes grit and determination, it takes a lot of mental and physical stress and above all, it has to start with delight, and ends with wisdom. And that is what test cricket is all about, you toil hard for five hard days out in the sun, the win will delight you up and the loss will enlighten you to do better next time.


listovative.com

So, hello dear friends, this is my very first article to World of Cricket group and I am just a newbie to steemit and couldn’t say how happy I was to see this group, about the game I love, the game we love and here I am writing about my favorite game of all, the test match cricket.

So, here is something you often see these days in social media.

“If you think test cricket is boring, then you’re too young for cricket.”

In fact, I too agree with this statement because the modern or the immatures cricket spectators do not seem to enjoy the father version of all cricket, very much. It is understandable that to enjoy a test match, you certainly need some knowledge about cricket and how to enjoy it.

There are no flashing blades, intense fights, 6 s and 4s every ball colorful kits or exuberance. The good old white kits with red leather ball but a whole lot of tradition and pride to be played.


www.thecricketmonthly.com

If you ask any young cricketer, he would say his biggest ambition would be to win the world cup and gain test match status. It is very true that no matter how good you performed in limited over matches, the respect you earn when someone calls you “test cricker” is priceless. It is an honor and a reputation one could have for a lifetime, while many could only dream.

I, myself being a sri Lankan had many cricketing greats and milestones though all these years but having a bad patch currently. But boy, the cricket playing these days are just unimaginable…England vs India India vs Australia and recently concluded two matches in Bangladesh vs West Indies are just priceless moments and good examples to say that you do not need to see your country playing to enjoy the cricket.


www.hindustantimes.com

Cricket is very unpredictable; you play for 5 days but couldn’t yet decide the winner until the last hour.
But the most intense and followed feast of the test cricket is undoubtedly, The Ashes…I just don’t want to lengthen this article talking about Ashes, But I’m pretty sure, you all know how it feels. Need more proof?

“When you play test cricket, you don’t give the Englishmen an inch. Play it tough, all the way, grind them into the dust” – Sir Don Bradman

The statement from the legend says it all.

As a sri Lankan, my most favorite moments in test cricket that I’ve watched are 2014 Headingly win over England in penultimate delivery, Kusal Perera’s Match winning innings of 153 in Durban 2019 and Murali’s 800 th scalp at 2009 in Galle.


www.skysports.com

Test cricket is reaching its most glorious day in very near future. The final of test championship at Lord’s- the home of cricket. Could it be more iconic??

New Zealand has already reserved their place for the final and hard battling England vs India series would decide the other. Fingers crossed and eagerly waiting for the results.


prestigiousstarawards.com

finally, I would like to mention two of my cricket loving friends, @damithudaya and @Sandu to share their thought on their favorite format.

With that, let me stop for now. Have a nice day and always stay safe!

-Ceylonese Eye-

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by @besticofinder,A Country Representative from SRI LANKA. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and check the ongoing contests : Check here

Yeah! Test Cricket is the spirit of Cricket, that's my favourite format too. You can't say it's boring if you watched the last few matches. I still can't believe, how it's difficult to pass 200 runs, even with all the fielders are nearby. That's the beauty

indeed! it's a different art !💓

Thank you very much for your entry!

my pleasure...

hey, nice article and it brought back precious memories of test cricket from my childhood. I am thankful to my mother for making me a cricket fan at such a young age, so I could witness of the beauty of the cricket from those days, hence saw the greatest time of SL cricket history.

yeah I agree with you. Test cricket is an art and many fail to perform well. It needs years of hard-work, dedication, sacrifices to become a well-stand test cricketer. I think this is what our young SL cricketers are lacking in.

have a nice day!

I am thankful to my mother for making me a cricket fan at such a young age

Wow! a rare occasion...🤩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39