Participating in the Skill Dairy.

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago (edited)

Participate in a Skill Dairy.

I often see people participating in a daily "dairy" in other communities, but I never see any cows. I spent my formative years milking cows. Many times in the winters, when the temperature outside was well below freezing, I would warm my fingers by putting my hands between the cow's udder and legs.

I have milked a cow manually, but with the milk capacity that cows have now, compared to ancient times, a single cow can produce as much as three or four (or more) cows historically.

image.png
Source
The standard practice when I was young was to use milking machines. There was a central vacuum pump and pipes around the entire barn. You would attach thick rubber hoses from the vacuum lines to a bucket. One line going from the bucket to the cow would provide a low steady vacuum to draw the milk. A second line went to the teat cups. Due to valves building and releasing, the vacuum caused the rubber in the teat cups to simulate the clenching of the human hand while milking.

image.png
Source

When I was a little older, we installed a milk pipeline. Instead of transporting the milk in the buckets to the milk cooler, the vacuum sucked the milk directly there.

image.png
Source

Fortunately, my family retired out of the dairy industry when the next innovation arrived: the carousel. Think of a merry-go-round for cows. The cows would enter; the person doing the milking would wash and put the milker on the cow. It would go around, and the teat cups would drop off when the milk flow reached a certain level. The cows would exit once the carousel had completed the round.

The latest technology uses robotic milkers. It requires a brand new skillset to milk cows. You need to push a button to turn it on when you first install it. You also need to push the button to turn it off when you are ready to retire.

So this is my article on Skill Dairies. Maybe next time I will describe how one runs a "Diary Farm". You plant seeds and harvest little journals to record your daily activities.

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

That is awesome!! Your dairy is well appreciated!!

 2 years ago 

I hope you are in a safe area.

Congratulations, your nice post has been upvoted by the steem.skillshare curation trail!
If you wish to join as well our trail and support our community, other users, and earn the curation reward, please check out this post:
steem.skillshare curation trail post

trail.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01