Longevity Project II: Introduction to a Ketogenic Diet Paired With Intermittent Fasting

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago (edited)


First Page * Previous Page
Simply put, there are two pathways that your body obtains energy for fuel. The first involves breaking down complex sugars to make simple sugars (glucose). The second pathway breaks down "complex" fats into more superficial fats (ketones).

Complex sugars are carbohydrates, sucrose, fructose etc. When you ingest "carbs," your body detects sugars in your bloodstream and releases insulin to mediate the processing of the sugars. If your blood sugar rises too high, insulin starts the process that causes fat cells to take in the glucose.

As I write this, I wonder if there is an anti-insulin enzyme that causes fat cells to eject glucose.

The critical takeaway is that carbohydrates cause you to increase the size of your fat stores not based on your caloric intake but based on your blood sugar levels. If your sugar levels drop, you develop cravings. It is easy to disrupt your caloric plans when you become obsessed with eating cake.

The second pathway involves the burning of ketones. When you eat fat, it acts as an appetite suppressant. Unlike carbohydrates, fats can be excreted. If you don't believe me take five tablespoons of coconut oil at once (don't leave your home for a day). If you are on a high fat/no-carb diet, your body will adapt and burn ketones as its main fuel source. What happens if you introduce intermittent fasting? Once your supply of ketones is exhausted, your body starts to burn its fat reserves (you lose weight).

I encourage you to watch this video to get a different perspective:

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

It's interesting to learn that the main problem here is too much insulin in my body. Here most of the meals we eat are carbohydrates. It is the easiest and most affordable food. They are everywhere in the farm/market. One time my father passed away and the only food my mom could provide for us was starchy foods because they are the cheapest, we even had to eat a particular type of starchy food. We ate these almost everyday as we had no other choice. This routine of eating was reduced though when I came to my aunt's house to live.
But I think the intake of too much carbohydrates has affected me so much, it has even affected my memory because I find it difficult to remember most things and I feel really bad about this.
We love eating carbohydrates and this is what is affecting us. According to the doctor, this excessive intake of carbohydrates leads to many things which I'm also experiencing now. My next goal is to reduce the intake of carbohydrates and eat more of vegetables, fat and protein. Also I'll like to introduce the intermittent fasting though it would be a bit difficult for me now because my body tends to crave for 3 square meals, but I'll do my best to help myself. It is very important for me to lose weight and to get other things in place. May God help me

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55