Funny English// Lesson 1: Pigs might Fly // #club5050

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago

Greetings to everyone! Today we will talk about pigs. Or rather, about interesting expressions connected with them in English.

FUNNY.jpg

For example: TO BUY A PIG IN A POKE. This means: to buy or purchase something incomprehensible, blindly. In my native Russian, there is also a similar expression, only we buy a cat in a poke.

Another interesting expression with this animal sounds: TO MAKE A PIG OF YOURSELF and it means that you have eaten much, very much. I think this situation can happen to any of us.

There is one more interesting English idiom: PIGS MIGHT FLY. Of course, this does not mean that pigs fly in the air, as birds, it just means that everything in the world can happen, everything is possible. And even that the pigs will fly.

Well, if your house is not tidy, dirty, then you can say that THIS PLACE IS A PIGSTY. I do not know if it happens with you, but it definitely happens with my place sometimes because I do the cleaning badly. Or rather, I MAKE A PIG'S EAR OF IT.

And here is my short story on the pig theme:

My friends were selling a pet and I wanted to buy it. I have never seen this pet. So I was buying a pig in a poke. But when i came to my friends it was so dirty there that I exclaimed: ''Oh, this place is a pigsty''. Friends treated me with some very tasty food so I sat and I made a pig of myself.

Don't you believe me? But even pigs might fly!

Сегодня мы поговорим о свиньях. Вернее, об интересных выражениях, связанных с ними в английском языке.

Например: TO BUY A PIG IN A POKE. Это значит: покупать или приобретать что-то непонятное, вслепую. В моем родном русском языке тоже есть похожее выражение, только мы покупаем кота в мешке.

Еще одно интересное выражение с этим животным и оно звучит: TO MAKE A PIG OF YOURSELF, (сделать из себя свинью) это означает, что вы съели много, очень много. Я думаю, что такая ситуация может случиться с любым из нас.

Есть еще одна интересная английская идиома: PIGS MIGHT FLY(свиньи могут летать). Конечно, это не значит, что свиньи летают по воздуху, как птицы, это просто значит, что все в мире может случиться, все возможно. И даже то, что свиньи полетят.

Ну а если в вашем доме не прибрано, грязно, то можно сказать, что THIS PLACE IS A PIGSTY.(это место-свинарник). Я не знаю, случается ли это с вами, но иногда это определенно случается с моим домом, потому что я плохо убираюсь. Или, скорее, I MAKE A PIG'S EAR OF IT. (я делаю из этого свиное ухо)

Что, не верите? Но ведь даже свиньи могут летать!:)

I am a member of #club5050 . Let's make Steemit stronger together!

Sort:  

I want to make a pig of myself right now! :)

It is very easy:)
just do it!:)

This post qualifies for booming support

Club5050 - yes
Steemexclusive - yes
Plagiarismfree - Yes

This would be great:), thank you!

Congratulations, your nice post has been upvoted by the steem.skillshare curation trail!
If you wish to join as well our trail and support our community, other users, and earn the curation reward, please check out this post:
steem.skillshare curation trail post

trail.jpg

Thank you!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67476.14
ETH 3776.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52