#Burnsteem25 || Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W1 | My view on Cyber Bullying - by @simonnwigwesteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago


Yellow Modern Food Cooking Tutorial Youtube Thumbnail.png
Background Image created on canvas


Greetings friends here in Cameroon,
It is a great honour to be here with you all. The steemit engagement challenge for this season has brought us all to this very wonderful country and community. I'm delighted to be among those participating in this wonderful program organised by the steemit team.

This is the first week of the engagement challenge and the community has presented us with a very wonderful topic to kick-start the journey. This week we are looking at a topic Cyber Bullying, I will be using the questions below to explain my understanding of the said topic. Let's get started.


What is your understanding on Cyber bullying?


The word cyberbullying is a conjunction of two different words I.e cyber and bullying. When we talk about the word cyber, we are referring to something related to computing whereas when we talk about the word bullying we are referring to a scenario where you treat people unkind, harass, intimidate or torture people.

computer-5777377__480.png
Source

Having explained these two terms perfectly, we can see cyberbullying as a means of torturing people or treating people unkind using computing devices or social media. As I have clearly explained above, cyberbullying or you can call it cyber harassment is a means of treating people unkind in cyberspace which is the internet. Here you don't get to meet the person face to face to torture him/her, you do that online.

There are ways in which you can bully someone online and a few of these ways will be listed below so that we don't get ourselves limited to only one aspect of the harassment.

  • One of the ways to bully someone is by sending him/her mean messages either through chat or text

  • Hacking into someone's social network or hacking into their wallets

  • Using someone's profile to defraud others

  • Painting someone black online by saying bad things about the person. Etc


Have you ever been a victim or perpetrator of Cyber bullying?


From the above listed few ways in which a person can be bullied online, you will agree with me that anyone who has used social media or computing devices for a year or more might have had one experience or the other.

So concerning the question above, I have been a victim of cyberbullying on several occasions. Most of these include hacking my profile (social media) and using it to defraud others. Sending hateful messages about me online and also quarrelling with people online.


Give an instance (if any) wherein you or someone you know felt bullied in cyberspace, and what spiked such a feeling. (It could be throughout any social platform)


As I have said earlier, I'm a victim of cyberbullying on several occasions. When I joined Facebook newly, I had no idea that accounts can be hacked and as a young person, I was always ready to explore and get new knowledge.

On one of the occasions, a link was sent to me by someone who happens to be a close friend, I clicked on the link and within a few minutes later I couldn't access my account again. I called the person and told him this is the situation I was facing with my account but he said his account too has been facing the same issue for quite a while now and that is when I knew that his account too was hacked.

When I went further to check my blog via a friend's account, I discover that my account was been used to advertise quick cash and since a lot of people know me and they trust that I can't post anything fake they started sending money and few called me to confirm so I hurriedly wrote using my friends account not to fall for the scam going on in my account.


How did this encounter affect this said person?


There is no iota of doubt about the fact that anytime we encounter cyberbullying, we get affected especially psychological. In my case, I felt betrayed, lonely and weak.

A lot of people at that moment lost their money because they taught I was the person operating the account. It also brought issues between me and a few of my clients at that time because some of them taught I was the person that did it and late came to tell them that I was not the one and that the account was hacked.

It took me a little time to recover from the shock because I lost a whole lot of contact at that moment. My business within that period depreciated since I couldn't get across my business partners at that point.


How safe do you feel on Steemit? And have you ever felt bullied at any point in time? (on Steemit)


I feel very safe on the steemit platform because you have complete control of your account. Once you don't share your account details with anyone for any reason, then your account will remain yours forever.

We have also seen this cyberbullying here on the platform where someone will drop a link and ask users to click and get free steem. We have a lot of caution articles telling us never to click on any article because there is no free steem anywhere. You have to earn all your steem on the platform.

So in the aspect of being safe, since I understand the trick used by these people, I feel very safe because I'm certain they can't get access to my account. I have never been bullied here on this platform before. I'm extremely careful with the things I do here.


What lessons did you gain from such a scenario? And what advice can you give to your audience?


My encounter taught me not to always click on any link without proper confirmation. The guides I have read from this noble platform have also given me an edge on how to dictate which are genuine links and which links are not.

To all those reading this article today, I want to advise you all to stay away from all these scammers coming to you for free steem. The platform doesn't offer free steem. And to the different communities, let no user drop an enclosed link to you as their entry. Some people also use that medium. The link should be seen clearly so that you can know the content of the link.

Furthermore, we can use the tool https://checkshorturl.com/ to confirm if the link is genuine or not by copying and pasting it into this address to see the true address. I want to believe that this will go a long way in keeping us out of cyberbullying.



Conclusion


There are many sides to cyberbullying and I have been able to mention just but a few. Cyberbullying is not just about theft but also about reputation. Your reputation can be reduced to nothing in cyberspace which will in turn cause you depression and even isolation because you won't be free enough any longer to associate with people around you. We are all aware that false or bad image travels faster. I invite @temitopef, @yakspeace and @josepha to also join the contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I really enjoyed your reading, it gives the same view that cyber bullying is really disturbing and has a great psychological impact on the target and it is a crime.

My account has also been hacked, but I have never seen the hacker bully or use it for crime, but not until now my fear is still there where until now my Facebook account is still in the hands of hackers without me knowing the intent and purpose.

Hopefully we don't become cyberbullying, let us be people who use social media wisely.
Good luck for the contest..
👍

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your wonderful comments and contributions my friend

 2 years ago 

You are welcome brother...
👍👍👍

Imagen2.png
CONGRATULATIONS

This post has been upvoted with @steemcurator09 / Curated by: @josevas217

 2 years ago 

I must say that cyber bullying is a babaric act and I believe that any one reading through you post will have a lot to benefit as far as this contest is concerned,
Like you rightly said ,steemit is a platform which don't offer Free steem and I think people who like to eat without working should avoid clicking any link in the name of free steem and also always try to follow the verification before clicking on any link t

Thank for you r publication I really appreciate and wish you good luck in this engagement contest

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much my friend for your wonderful comment and contributions on this post. It is highly appreciated.

 2 years ago 

You are highly welcome my dear brother

 2 years ago 

Hello friend, I am very sorry that you have been a victim of cyberbullying, the saddest thing is that many people lost money.

But thank God you were able to show your face and they will confirm that it was a scam, you don't have to trust anyone... And it's good that you feel somewhat safe in steemit, although we can still get evil... Excellent post my friend!!! Greetings from Venezuela ...

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your kind comments on my article.

 2 years ago 

I strongly agree to what you have said, about Steemit as the platform that you feel very safe having control of your activities and key. Indeed you have written so well and highlighted several good point in your review about cyber bullying which is a trait to the internet.

Thank you so much for inviting me to this contest. Expect my entry soonest.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much my friend for your comments and contributions on this post.

 2 years ago 

Wow nice write up ,You have taken to explained about cyber bullying .I most we need to avoid clicking fishielinks on Steemit platform in the name of claiming rewards .You have what you haven’t work for .Goid luck

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your comments and contributions my friend

 2 years ago 

You are welcome

 2 years ago 

You are welcome friend

 2 years ago 

Your post has been supported using the Steem Cameroon Curation Account.

Steem Cameroon Discord Server
Steem Cameroon Telegram Channel

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the support

 2 years ago 

The psychological part of the affection caused by bullying is an understatement! Infact, if you're not a strong willed person, you can run mad or even continually be depressed and traumatized. Looks like Facebook is the breeding ground for this stupid act. We advance and we remain strong.

Here's my entry link you might want to know what I've got to say about this too. Thank you

 2 years ago 

your vigilance and caution at this time, make you safe in the virtual world today. good move friend, excellent post, good luck friend

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your comment my friend.

 2 years ago 

An impressive entry.Cyber bullying rate is now increasing with the development of technology mostly the teenagers are becoming the victim of it due to lack of awareness.We should be careful and strenghthen the victims helps them to tackle the situations.Thanks for sharing with us.Best of luck for the contest.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your valuable comments my friend

 2 years ago 

It is always a damping experience to have when you are being kicked out of your own social media handles, then imagine losing your funds you work hard to earn to this barbaric act, but unfortunately today, this is more common than seeing a duck fly.
We have to be very careful of our security and metal health too. Thank you for wonderful post. Success in the contest.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your comment and contributions my friend.

 2 years ago 

I really look upto you sir. Thank you for blessing us with this wonderful piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51