Creative Writing Contest Vol. 17 by @rapharchick | Education: What is or was your favorite and worst subject? What makes it or made it your favorite and worst subject?

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

Hello great people hope we all are doing well once again. Its yet another opportunity to take part in this contest #creativewriting contest vol-17 which focuses on Education and this time around I want to share with you by best subjects in school as well as that which appeared to be the worst and the reasons why I regarded them the way I did. Special thanks to the organizer of this amazing Contest in the Person of Sir @thegreens who is always there to encourage creative writeups.

While going to school I had a number of subjects which I did. By the time I was in form 5 I hated Mathematics so well and I was a real lover of computer science.

image.png
image Source

By this time, I had not yet painted a clear picture of what I actually wanted in life as a career and my hatred for mathematics right up to the level of form 5 greatly affected my career ladder. I hated mathematics since from form 2 because the teacher wasn’t one I could easily flow with. I had difficulties connecting with her as a teacher and this created some sort of hatred for her and her subject (I regret ever doing this though). She was one who will always go with very fast learners well and forgetting that we all couldn’t have assimilated her teaching at the same learning pace. I got angry with this and with the pressure she began putting on me I couldn’t cope so hatred stepped in.

image.png
image Source

Talking about my favorite subject it had always been computer science and ICT. I had always been very passionate about being a computer engineer and this great passion pushed me to making computer science my very best subject. I could study it far ahead of the teacher just to challenge my computer science teacher but never had it been the case. My CS teacher throughout secondary school was smart.

After writing my ordinary levels, I began asking myself questions like “. What next”, “Which field do I continue with…”. These questions began throwing me into confusion and I only had to drive with my passion. Now looking at the field of computer engineering, it become difficult to flow in it if you are not good at mathematics. When I discovered this After my Ordinary levels, I only had to develop some love for mathematics because my career will be at stake if I fail in numbers.

This has been a great challenge to me for the past years but determination and love for my career as a computer engineer has given me the audacity to brave all odds and then study Mathematics well.
At the junior levels in secondary schools, I didn’t want to hear about number systems, number bases, linear equations, quadratics equations, sets and logic and all that you can list

image.png
image Source

but now I’ve been able for push myself through tough concepts Like differential calculus, integration, trigonometry, Taylor series, Fourier series, Transformations and many other advanced concepts in mathematics.

image.png
image Source

Now here is my conclusion and advice to steemians still in secondary school.
” … It is very important to know and understand what you want to become in the future. What career path do you intend to take… Look and the requirements for that career… Understand the demands of the career and then push yourself to go through. Don’t run away from difficult concepts but challenge yourself to breakthrough no matter what… And finally, make sure whatever you choose is in line with your passions and purpose? Then Push through. The Journey might be a difficult one But remember IT IS POSSIBLE”
The journey is tough but Possible.

image.png
image Source

Thanks for being there to read this post of mine hoping to see you on the next
SHALOM

CC: @thegreens

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I feel you bro.i have always wanted to learn ict further.but math just won't let me

 3 years ago 

Great write up boss. An engineer without mathematical skills will always struggle in practice. I’m happy you had a change of mind and love what needed to be loved. I believe maths boosts one’s IQ.

 3 years ago 

Thank you bro. Mathematics indeed is an IQ booster

 3 years ago 

Nice presentation

 3 years ago 

Wow, interesting. Ashia

 3 years ago 

Learning computer science is difficult for because it goes with mathematics 😫

 3 years ago 

Your post has been curated by @thegreens with the Steem Cameroon Community Account. Keep dropping creative content to get beautiful rewards from the Steem Cameroon Community and feel free to contact @thegreens for all your steem questions and challenges.
Remember to participate in any of the following contests or programs organized for Cameroonian Steemians;

  1. The Power Up Challenge
  2. Creative Writing Contest
  3. Green Deeds Contest: To be launched
  4. Best Day of the Week Contest
  5. Steem Cameroon Record My Status Vol. 06 Contest
  6. Steemit Achievement Pledge Program
  7. Steem Cameroon Delegations Reward Program

Steem-on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36