The Diary Game Reconnecting with my Culture

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)

20220605_180205.jpg
Enjoying the famous Mbaya dance at the

A few days ago, I had the singular pleasure of reconnecting with my culture in a way that I haven't felt since I was 11 years old... and it was the greatest feeling I have had in a very looooong time...

If you, like me, are from any of the wimbum tribes of the North West Region of Cameroon, you probably are familiar with the fact that before the ongoing socio-political crisis in the English speaking regions of the country, every New Year's day was Mile 2 Day 😂😂😂

Anyways, growing up, the Wimbum cultural and Development Assocation (WICUDA) in Bamenda would always organize, on the 1st of January of every year, a grand cultural jamboree which will bring together all of the Wimbum people living in Bamenda town to WICUDA's hall around Mile 2 Junction (hence the name Mile 2) for lots of cultural displays, dancing, food and all round camaraderie. It was always such an amazing time that as children, we always used to look forward to New Year's day. I know that stopped after 2016 after the crisis began and I don't know if the event ever resumed.

20220605_173254.jpg

However, this year, the current WICUDA executive of the North West Region decided to organize a Wimbum Cultural Festival with basically same objectives as what we used to have as Mile 2 and it turned out to be what we all needed.

I woke up around my usual 4 AM that morning, wrote a few lines of code on a project that I have been working on @yems.group for months now and then went ahead to prepare myself for the day.

Around 11AM, I rushed to the field, for a veteran game and then rushed home right after that to freshen up. Right after my bath, I saw a friend of my post about the then ongoing cultural festival on his status and that's when I remembered it was happening that day

I immediately put on my toghu and rushed over to Blue Pearl where everything was happening to join the festivities.

Dtube Video of Juju] captured by me at the festival

Immediately I got there, I was greeted by the side of the road by one of the juju dances that were leaving the festival already. It was so exciting as it had been a while since I'd seen any juju here in town.

Already filled with so much excitement, I proceeded into the festival ground where fundraising was going on at the Blue Pearl Open Plaza. The first group to start dancing as I got there were the Mindu dance from the Ndu Fon's Palace.
20220605_181403.jpg
20220605_180543.jpg

Trust me, these images don't even begin to capture how amazing the atmosphere was.

After the Mindu Dancers made their rounds, the very famous Mbaya dancers came in and caught the crowd by storm. If you're not familiar with the Mbaya dance, the video below will give you a very quick intro into what it's all about.

Dtube Video of Mbaya Dance captured by me at the festival

The very famous Mbaya dance known for it's high energetic displays, mostly performed by men is one of the most famous dance of the Wimbum people of Donga-Mantung Division in the North West Region of Cameroon. It can also be seen from the Nso people of the same region, and has been also been performed in some parts of the Northern region of Cameroon which is the origin of the Tikar people of which the Wimbum are descendants.

Looks exciting right?

One of the reasons why many of the wimbum people at the festival were so filled with energy is the fact that some of the fons of some wimbum villages were present. This really made the atmosphere feel like they were at home.
20220605_181443.jpg
The Fons of Njap, Watt, Kup and Tarla... (if I remember correctly 😁)

20220605_182550.jpg

I also had a lot to drink as I met a friend of mine who's a journalist and so he and I joined the rest of the press crew to enjoy the goodies that had been reserved for them.

I can't fully capture all of the feelings that I was feeling that day. I still have jitters😁😁😁 but this was definitely the best day that I had all week.

I am seriously looking forward to more cultural festivals like these.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow, this was a color event from the images. You were very lucky not to miss out on the event. I have heard of the famous Mbaya dance you mentioned, I'm sure those guys usually eat very well to have that energy they always display. You really had an exciting day for yourself. Hope you will share the invitation next year.

 2 years ago 

oh most definitely... I'm sure they do eat very to display... this video doesn't even really show the very energetic moves... it's usually crazy...
I sure will share the invitation for the next one... you can count on it..
Thanks for reading

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by The Team Industrious Seven using @steemcurator06. We are supporting quality posts, so keep creating quality posts to get more support. #thediarygame

SteemexclusiveClubUpvote(%)bot use
Yes#club505030No

@chant

 2 years ago 

thanks a lot to the @steemcurator06 team for reading and voting on my post... I'll continue to share my diaries

 2 years ago 

@nforyembe, your post has been supported using the Steem Cameroon Curation Account.


 2 years ago 

🕺🕺🕺🕺

 2 years ago 

Waooo what a great day bro our culture is our heritage and our root

 2 years ago 

Indeed... thanks for reading man.

 2 years ago 

I love cultural events they're so enriching. It's always sweet to know your culture. The videos you captured are amazing😭 i wish I were in bda to experience this too🤭

 2 years ago 

Thanks for reading... oh yes! cultural events are always amazing... hopefully, you will get the chance to experience the next one.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected among the seven featured posts by the team INDUSTRIOUS SEVEN, Curators of theme my life. Keep making the quality post.

 2 years ago 

🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺
Thanks a lot @vvarishayy and the INDUSTRIOUS SEVEN... 🙌🙌🙌🙌
Thanks for reading and encouraging my writing... I will most definitely be writing a lot more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72