Creative Writing Contest Vol. 17 | Education: What was my favorite and worst subject? What made it my favorite and worst subject?

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Warm greetings @steemcameroon; I am excited to be part of this interesting and educative contest. There’s this saying that foundation is key. This is so true and applicable in almost all spheres in life.

Short story

When I just started school; that is primary school, I didn’t like it even one bit. I was so comfy in my home that I found the school environment as a whole boring; other pupils boring, teachers boring. Whenever my parent took me to school in the morning, it was either I cried till they took me back home or I just waited and left the class as soon as they left and everyone would be searching for me. This continued for about 2weeks after I started school. On one faithful Monday, as soon as mom wanted to leave after she kept me in class, I started the crying drama as usual . It was obvious that my class teacher had taken it till she couldn’t take it any more. What she did was take me in front of the class, tell my mother to just watch and she gave me the beating of my life. In front of everyone else, especially my own mother; just imagine. The same mother that I knew would stop the teacher automatically if she ever tried something like that. The same mother that would pamper and not beat me😂. It was then and there that I knew I had no escape. I was either for or for😂

Here’s my testimony; from that day I loved school and everything about school. I would even tell mom on Saturday to take me to school so I check if my teacher is there or not😂. Whether it was fear or love oh, I cannot tell but what I know is the feeling turned to pure love for school even till date.

Back to the contest topic, I’ll end with my favorite subject so that I end with all smiles.

860A5249-64C2-4490-B43E-E0A1D592E878.jpeg
Image source"

My worst subject

I would describe myself as a goal getter. Nothing is ever more than me as long as I set my mind on it. Thinking about all of my school years, I sincerely do not know my worst subject. It might really sound strange but I do not think I have ever had a worst subject. Yeah true there were subjects I really didn’t like yet I didn’t hate them. I learned to focus more on how useful they were or could be to me and totally forgot how I felt about them. Often I took any subject I felt like I didn’t like as a challenge to study it, understand it and even explain to others. As I journeyed through secondary school, subjects like mathematics which were seemingly difficult I continued to challenge myself with. Once I put my mind on a subject I feel I don’t like, I tried to understand and reproduce and so I eventually succeeded with all subjects that I studied. The grades may not have been good or equal to those of the subjects I loved from within but then, I made it through them.

This alone taught me a great lesson in life that I still apply today; success and failure is in the mind. Whatever you put your mind on, you can do it. I have practicalised this and it works like magic

My favorite subject

Primary education, I do not remember having a favorite subject. I was just a jack of all trades. In secondary school, precisely from form 3, I fell madly in love with economics. I have remained a faithful lover to Economics and never have I cheated on her😂. I love her till now.

Reasons why I love Economics

  • To begin with, this subject is just so lively. It is lively in the sense that one can actually see all what is taught. It is not some form of friction or abstract.

  • Economics is totally relatable in our day to day life. With economics, I can tell exactly why the demand for a product is high or low, why prices are rising or falling, why there is scarcity and a whole lot. This is just so interesting.

  • Studying economics helped me in examining certain patterns, forecast and plan. Just the understanding of this subject made me so proactive in everything I do. This too was one very important reason why it was my favorite

  • Economics being a social science helped me to understand more about human behavior. Without understanding, there will always be clashes. I understood needs, wants, competition, monopoly, utilities and so on. Understanding these helped me understand why people behaved a certain way in certain circumstances as well as why certain patterns were the way they were. So, I would say it help me relate everything to everything and everyone in diverse situations.,

  • In this very life we all are searching for money. Even being here one of the reasons is money😅. With economics, I learned and understood about money, banking, government policies, business(local and international trading). This made me see the subject as very nice and thus my love for it

  • Economics made me rational. I would question and re-question everything, especially important decisions. Should I do this? What effects would it bring? Who will be affected and how? Overall is it right or just selfish? These were a few questions that would often come to my mind and I know it is thanks to economics and its theories.

  • To end with,economics was my favorite because of my teachers. I have been lucky enough to have had economics teacher who know. Teachers who the subject runs in their blood if I can say. Teachers who teach and you feel and see. Teachers who will make you want to keep listening and learning . I celebrate all my economics teachers till date. Special happy Teachers day to you all😁 🎊

Conclusion

To conclude, education remains the key. True we go to school yet remain jobless yet the importance of education cannot be over emphasized. With education one can think better, express and communicate better as well as forcast and plan better. Added to these, education is a fundamental human right which must be respected at all cost.

My little advice is that, though education as the word implies is important, we all should have a focus and orientation when choosing what to do. It is wrong to do something just because we love it. The aftermath of that should always be considered in a very rational and non frictional way. How is what I am doing going to help me in future? What openings will I have due to this? How beneficial will my studying this be to the society at large? Parents, mentors, elders have the role to direct and orientate the younger ones per se so that they journey through education with no future regrets. I for one studied literature and history too in high school due to the fact that I loved the subjects and I really truly did and excelled in them yet I sincerely do not see their uses in my life this very day.

Thank you @thegreens for the opportunity to share this through this awesome contest; I am most grateful and happy to be a contestant.

Best regards
@nancymboghi

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Economics is an essential science. I respect that subject.
So i take it that maths was your least favorite subject?

 3 years ago 

Ehhhhmmmm, maths wasn’t my least favorite actually. If I must choose one, then I’ll go for physics

 3 years ago 

Hahaha, i was beginning to wonder😏

 3 years ago 

😅 wonder no more

 3 years ago 

Your post has been curated by @thegreens with the Steem Cameroon Community Account. Keep dropping creative content to get beautiful rewards from the Steem Cameroon Community and feel free to contact @thegreens for all your steem questions and challenges.
Remember to participate in any of the following contests or programs organized for Cameroonian Steemians;

  1. The Power Up Challenge
  2. Creative Writing Contest
  3. Green Deeds Contest: To be launched
  4. Best Day of the Week Contest
  5. [Steem Cameroon Record My Status Vol. 06 Contest(https://steemit.com/hive-195150/@steem-cameroon/steem-cameroon-contest-record-my-status-volume-06-october-04th-2021-to-october-08th-2021)
  6. Steemit Achievement Pledge Program
  7. Steem Cameroon Delegations Reward Program

Steem-on!

 3 years ago 

Thank you dearly @steemcameroon💪🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55