Creative Writing Contest Vol. 14 | Education: How prepared are you for the 2021/2022 Back to School Year?

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago


Image source

Introduction

Hello to all lovely and amazing steemians of the cameroon community and the world at large! It's once more very amazing to take part in this contest organized by @thegreens to bring out the writing potential out of us. And in this 14th edition of the contest, I'll be telling you all how prepared i am for the 2021/2022 academic year.



How prepared am I

This year is quite a special year as concerns the current academic year. Usually together with my dad we share the tasks of paying my sibling's school fees and book purchase. But this time, he gave me a sum of money and asked me to manage the needs of my little sisters.
I have 4 little sisters: one is in her final year biomedical sciences preparing for her defense, the other in year 2 nursing in a professional school, another in form 5 preparing for the GCE examination and the last who repeats form 3.

It was as a blow in my face to take care of all these girls knowing fully well that girls' needs are always more demanding. So the first thing I did was prepare a draft of every single one of them.

I began by their various school fees starting from the ones in secondary school and kept the elders on hold which i thought would be easy. Turned out it was even more strenuous 😂.
The PTA was increased and amounted to 25,000frs and 2000frs increased on the school fees for sanitation stuff.

Looking for their bags

All these increases made me apply some level of responsibility and preference for certain items than others. I didn't know I could manage money this well😅
Fir once I was in the shoes of the one giving the money and not on the spending end. And I remembered that some time ago I was demanding these same things they demanded, but I had no choice than forgot certain wants and begin considering the needs.

At the bank paying PTA

I succeeded in paying the school fees and the necessary books, school bags, shoes, advanced the fees of their elders and disbursed an advance for the eldest's project. Dad made it in a way such that the money won't be sufficient just to test my abilities and start bringing me into the "red Zone" as i call it.



Challenges Faced

  • Financial Challenge: I had much to buy but very little money which made me forgo certain items and trekk during all the transactions on an empty stomach.
  • Overcrowding: The bank was always very crowded with people even when you came very early and this made me sometimes feel discouraged and left back for home.
  • Prices: Prices for books and fees drastically increased.
  • Rest: i would say i didn't actually rest this while while because when people are sleeping I'm busy thinking of my next move.


Conclusion

With all these i can say i am psychologically, mentally, emotionally and physically equipped for the academic year. Because I believe taking care of such responsibilities is not an easy task especially when the money isn't enough.
Getting to know how parents cope with all the demands from their kids too was quite cool.



Advice

Ladies and gentlemen who haven't yet gotten married, please think twice before having a child, having one is beautiful but having the child when undergoing a financial breakdown is not advisable. Think well before engaging into sexual relationships out of marriage. Apart from it being spiritually wrong, it can cause you more pain than joy when wanting to grow that child up🙏🏾


Thank you all for reading and God bless you.


Jesus loves you ♥️

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Permit me begin by thanking you for the advise about bearing children.
Steemians, plan before you have a child. Don't have a child before start planning. If you are not spiritually strong, learn about contraceptives and make sure to use them always coz taking care of children isn't an easy task.
I have three kids and to provide their needs and invest in their future isn't easy despite having 02 jobs plus Steemit. My accounts are all empty and if not of the fact that my Steemit spirit is very strong, i should have powered-down my account lol.

@majerius, i see you are becoming a real man and father not just your siblings, but all of humanity. Great job and keep being this amazing!

 3 years ago 

Oh my God! Such amazing comment. Thank you for this comment. It really isn't easy😅 God forbid that you power down😂

I appreciate the time you've dedicated from your so busy schedule to comment on my post. I'm rely honoured

 3 years ago 

Ma brother when ever i think on how daddy stresses just to pay our fees na yehmmm the thing pains me mal.

Remember to always go in for family planning before marriage in order not to bring up a kid in a suffering environment.

 3 years ago 

I tell u massa the stress is heavy

 3 years ago 

Hahahahaha it's good that you get to experience all that , trekking just to manage money. When you are in that position , the only thing you can do is Lear. How to manage money .
Am happy you succeeded in paying the school fees and buying all the necessary things.

 3 years ago 

See eh. Man has suffered but it'll be a great help to me in future as you said, it's helping me learn to manage

 3 years ago 

Your write up , interests me a lot, because being an elder brother who actually contribute to the needs of his siblings, is good because you are building up yourself to be a better person or a father tomorrow.

 3 years ago 

Yeah yeah it is surely building me a lot. I've learnt a lot from this experience

 3 years ago 

Wow you are now like the father of the house. You really did well to start with the fees bro.that two thousand which increased like that has put many parent in chaos with this hard times.
Big brother has to sacrifice for his little ones. Finances is one of the major difficulty faced by so many parents.
Thanks for the advice bro

 3 years ago 

Always welcome. Man fit already get woman now so na only good wife lack

 3 years ago 

Hahaha with all these beautiful girls on this platform? Ask @nafisatu to look good wife

 3 years ago 

😂😂I die here
I should do what?
There are beautiful girls let him make his choice

 3 years ago 

Hahahahahahahahaha do something sis

 3 years ago 

Wow, the write-up is well organised. The advice at the end is really thoughtful of you. I applaud you👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

 3 years ago 

Hahahah thanks bro. Sorry for the late reply

 3 years ago 

Your post has been curated by @thegreens with the Steem Cameroon Community Account. Keep dropping creative content to get beautiful rewards from the Steem Cameroon Community and feel free to contact @thegreens for all your steem questions and challenges.
Remember to participate in any of the following contests or programs organized for Cameroonian Steemians;

  1. The Power Up Challenge
  2. Creative Writing Contest
  3. Green Deeds Contest
  4. Best Day of the Week Contest
  5. Steem Cameroon Record My Status Vol. 03 Contest
  6. Kamer Steemit Promo Vol. O2 Contest (To be launched)
  7. Steemit Achievement Pledge Program
  8. Steem Cameroon Delegations Reward Program

Steem-on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24